TTT - Steve Winwood

Hello Hive Music Lovers!,

Welcome to another #threetunetuesday created originally by @ablaze.

This week I feature someone with an amazing talent and he has some tunes in my favourite era (The 80s). Not only can he sing with a great and unique sound, he can also play the guitar pretty well.

I think he didn't get the recognition he deserved, but well, maybe let me know what you think. Born in the UK, Steve has had a long music career in bands and a successful solo career too.


The first tune is a great feel good tune from the 80s and one of my favorite tracks by Steve.

Where are those same feel good songs from today? Do things not feel so good or was the frequency much higher back then?

This song has been remixed and rereleased and a more recent version I found was here by Kygo.

Like so many 80s tracks, there have been later many remixes made to rehash them or update them, but the original 80s tunes still stand the test of time.

Higher Love


The next tune is the smash hit Valerie which Steve sung earlier in the 80s and my first memories of this tune were through playing Grand Theft Auto where it was on one of the radio stations.

This is an iconic 80s track and Steve smashes it. So much so that there have also been a few remixes of it, noticeably, one of my favorites by Amy Whitehouse

She has a unique sound and the song is totally different to that sung by Steve. I saw that there was a version with Mark Ronson, but what he was doing in the song, I'm not quite sure.

The sample from the song by Steve was also used in the huge dance hit by Eric Prydz in 2004. It was quite well known for its unique workout video, more than the song I think.

Valerie


The final tune is another 80s classic by Steve this time which has Huey Lewis vibes to me. A great easy listening tune and quite different to some of his other tunes I shared today.

You can see the versitality and how Steve adapted in the 80s. He really gives off those good time feelings that you want to have when you listen to some tunes.

Roll With It


That wraps up my #ttt for this week. I hope you are having a great musical Tuesday. If you need more Steve Winwood I can recommend this Freedom Overspill tune as a bonus track. What tune do you like the most? Let me know in the comments!


For those unfamiliar with TTT or Three Tune Tuesday.... to quote @ablaze :

The jist is as follows
Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs which I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #threetunetuesday tag that would be great, as that is what I use when sifting through all the entries every Wednesday. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You'll also be in with a chance of winning the prize.


Be sure to head over and give @ablaze some support as without his great work, we wouldn't have a #ttt.


Credits:
The linked videos are not owned by me, I am sharing just the link to the copyright owner's video. No copyright infringement is intended.
Used under fair-use section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976.

Title image created using image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now