Music Monday | Songs for the DIY grind with some beats

Did you read my post from earlier in the weekend on that I was doing some renovation stuff in the house? I am pulling wallpaper which I am really not too fond of doing and that is still not in the past tense grammar because I am still working on it. The idea of getting this done in a couple of hours turned into a multi day event, but finally there seems to be some progress.


Pixabay

Ofcourse you go through the multiple mental stages that I have in every not so easy little job in the house. From enthusiasm when starting off, to disappointment when you find out that it is a lot more work than you had expected, to utter angerand cursing towards your walls (not that they can help it), getting into disbelief and entering a strady grind mode to a small phase of euphoria when the end is coming near.

It alsmost feels like the 'Wall Street cheat sheet' which we all know from crypto from in what stage of the cycle that we are. You know it right?



Reseachgate.net


In all of these phases of getting the job done it feels like you need a different set of music in there. Let's have a look what to listen when the job is ongoing and how it shifts.





Lo-Fi



After the initial phase of finding out that the wallpaper situation was not working and it needed another day, this is what I put up in the morning. These kind of coffee bar tunes that just simply go on forever, leading to nothing. But they are perfect to get in the work and just let the mind drift off while the disappointment was sinking in and when I realized I would be here for a lot more hours.

This stuff is perfect when you don't need anything else but a little bit of background distraction.

I would call this phase a mixture between 'Depression'and 'Disbelief' from the cheat sheet





Laurent Garnier - Tales from the real world




I really love this song even though it stretches out a bit too long and the last two minutes are not what you want it to be anymore. Do you know 'Allen Watts'? He is sampled so often in tunes and it nearly always suits the songs. I came back to this song again because I was hearing another part of Alan Watts in one of the low-fi beats and then I needed a bag of energy again.

It starts off slow, but it keeps building and building adding more layers in the tune. I noticed that my puddy knife was also starting to go a bit faster so maybe this was exactly what I needed to hear in this phase as 'Optimism' and 'Thrill' from the cheat sheet were starting to drop back in there.

Ow yeah, this is from the new album from last year called '33 Tours Et Puis S'en Vont'. It has a couple of bangers but also a couple of total missers on there. Decide for yourself.




Laurent Garnier - The man with the red face




I got inspired by the new album of Laurent Garnier that I was listening and went over to the classics in there. If you don't know this one, you really need to work a bit on the dance classics.

Everything in this song screams good vibes although the backdrop is all the time dark and mysterious, but the sax makes it uplifting if you ask me. I saw Laurent Garnier live two years ago and I'm not even sure if this one was played. I remember the set was weird but intruiging, and that might just actually be the trademark of his work. It is always a bit weird. So again perfect to put your mind to something else in grinding.

I put this one when I was realizing that this wallaper pulling might actually get finished and the feet started to move as well. 'Compacency' is the cheat term for this one, and with that I went into a state of 'it is what it is' and just grinded on and not caring anymore how long it would take anymore. That is still the state I am in, it's fine now





You see how music takes you through all of these phases while doing something. And now also I realize I didn't have enough music playing over the last couple of weeks for no good reason. It were more podcasts which is also fine (also works perfect while pulling wallpaper actually!) but damn.... I need to get back on more music again.

Maybe this stupid little work brought something more after all?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center