I genuinely dislike pulling wallpaper, with a capital Dislike



aWmhTZYnsPCpXd55_Screenshot_20241012_212900_Photo_Editor.webp
sAX36CC3yalpU01i_Screenshot_20241012_212716_Photo_Editor.webp
buM0r9DVv7DnzYnC_Screenshot_20241012_212740_Photo_Editor.webp

Do you ever have that idyllic dream of remodelling a bit in the house, making it all nice, making it feel fresh again. And all of this goes without any effort and you could almost doing it on high heels, without the break of a sweat. Ever have that idea?


Yeah, I never have this feeling as well. For me fixing and doing stuff in the house always comes with the certain amount of hatred towards the task and it never goes as planned. For instance putting on new wallpaper. As a starter: I don't know how it is in your country, but wallpaper is not always the deal here in the house. There is a bit of a half half on what people do here; half of the people have stone on the wall often with paint over it, and the other half has wallpaper. Usually always when you move towards a new place and it has wallpaper on there, it is not only one layer of paper on the wall. Skeletons come out of the closet, or better said from behind the wallpaper.


When I moved into this house, I had a fantastic success story of removal wallpaper in a room. With steaming it off, it was gone in a jiffy and actually quite a pleasant experience. Now I had a second room that needed some attention due to leakage through the wall. The wallpaper had started to come off because of the leakage and it was time now months later to replace it after it had dried properly.


I started off with the same enthusiasm as I had in the other room. The disappountment was there quite fast. Because the paper came off easily, but there was a layer of paper underneith there. And that one was stuck as a brick and steaming was not working on this as well. So it ended up with pulling this piece by piece by hand and a putty knife. I started off with decent energy on this project and it drained away like a whirlpool in a bath tub.


My thoughts on this were doing this on a couple of hours. I am not even half way after an entire day of pulling and honestly..I am not sure this will be done after the second day. And this is only the pulling...


That's something for a weekend right? I genuinely hope you are doing something better than I am.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center