A song for the sea in three versions for this #ttt

TTT_LaMer.jpg

Playa Greysmar, Vargas, Venezuela - 23 Junio 2024


Hello, Hivers and music lovers!

It's still Tuesday on my side of the world, the day of the week that in Hive means a day to discover songs or listen to old hits thanks to the #ThreeTuneTuesday initiated by @ablaze.

Today for a change I have decided that my recommendation for this #ttt is a single song but in different versions.

Over the weekend I went to the beach. Yesterday was a holiday here so it was a long weekend and on Sunday I went to the beach with some friends. The beach was quite crowded because of the long weekend, so I didn't take any pictures except for the one above in this post which I took late in the afternoon while we were packing up. Although the day was not particularly sunny, just being near the sea was wonderful and I recharged my energy.

So the sea is this week's inspiration for my #ttt post. The song I have for today is by the French composer Charles Trenet, and it was released in 1946, La Mer. The composer said he wrote it while traveling by train in the south of France (source). Over the years, the song has become a classic and if you have never heard the French version, you will surely have heard the English version, Beyond the Sea.

This song has been covered hundreds of times, I will share some of my favorites.

But before I get into the tunes, let me give you a little background for those of you who aren't familiar with #threetunetuesday. In the words of @ablaze:

The jist is as follows
Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs which I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #ttt or #threetunetuesday tags that would be great. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You'll also be in with a chance of winning the prize - more on that later.

You can find out more at ablaze's post with his recommendations for this week the #161.

And without further ado, let's go with the tunes.

Tune 1 - Robbie Williams - Beyond The Sea

The English version of this song was very popular in the late 50s performed by the American singer Bobby Darin.

But the version I share is more recent. It is by the British singer Robbie Williams and is included in the soundtrack of the movie Finding Nemo. You have probably heard this one.

Tune 2 - Miguel Bosé - La Mer

This Miguel Bosé cover of La Mer has enchanted me since I first heard it years ago. The song is included in one of his albums from the late 90s, 11 Maneras de Ponerse un Sombrero.

Tune 3 - Tatiana Eva-Marie & Avalon Jazz Band - La Mer

I discovered this singer some time ago while writing a post for #ttt since she has a cover I liked of the bolero Bésame Mucho, and I wrote about it in One song, three covers for Three Tune Tuesday.

The interpretation of La Mer by Tatiana Eva-Marie and the Avalon Jazz Band is beautiful.

Bonus tune - Charles Trenet - La Mer

And of course, I could not fail to include the original version performed by the composer of the song Charles Trenet.

What version do you like the most? Tell me in the comments.

Thank you very much for reading!

Enjoy the music, and enjoy life!

All images and writings are my own unless otherwise stated

Lead image generated with Canva AI generator

The YouTube videos shared are not owned by me. I am just sharing them to enjoy and share the music.
And there is no intention of any copyright infringement.

© CoquiCoin

June 25, 2024

If you're reading this and you are not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through my referral link. And I could delegate some resource credit to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center