Visiting Song. Greensleeves by Anri

Dear colleagues, I have already written that I had the opportunity to work closely with a wonderful team of creative people. Together with Anastasia, our wonderful editor at Poetry and Music of the Voice, we organized a series of wonderful concerts. There we offered a theme for the week, and everyone could perform a song we defined. It was either a cover or your own performance of music, whatever you wanted. I actively supported this project myself, one of my favorite of our children.

An extraordinary concert from Music of the Voice, it was awesome! To participate in another concert, I needed to write my own version of verses to the folk English song Greensleeves (Green Sleeves). What did I come up with? Listen, don't be too harsh. Below you can see my lyrics that I wrote to music. The idea is a guy from our time falls in love with a real girl from the Middle Ages, the music is authentic and very old. I read a lot of fantasy novels and stories at the time and I loved the plot, when the lovers were from different worlds and they were separated by different times. There was a wonderful film in the 1980s, "June 31st", in which the same idea can be traced. That's what I got. Look and listen. I wish you all a good mood and creative inspiration, happiness and love.

folk music
lyrics by Anri

Through the thickness of ages, I see, as in a dream, green sleeves.
I so wanted to get to you, my love and sorrow.
No one knows my longing, no one knows
That you, like the face of the moon in the night, Shimmering with the gleam of the stars.
My soul is full of you, to the lute music of dreams,
No one can stop me from seeing you this night.

I look into the river, I see, as in a dream, the green sleeves.
I wanted so much to get to you, my love and sorrow.

I look up into the sky, I see the green sleeves like a dream.
My soul is with you, my turtledove, my love and sorrow.
No one will know my sorrow, no one will know
That your lips are sweeter than honey and the smell of your hair.
My soul is full of you, to the lute music of dreams...
Performed by Anri, you can listen:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now