Jubilant Colors on Autumn Maples, and More [Bonsai]

In the warmth of October, the leaves have been blushing red on my various bonsai Maple trees.

Take a picture, it'll last longer.

Nothing could be further from the truth. Once the leaf colors have fully ripened red, they only remain attached to the tree for up to a week or two.

I wish the colored leaves would remain on the trees longer, but leaf drop is nature's way of rejuvenating itself.

Autumn Tour

Please, I invite you to scroll to your heart's delight. Follow my story here, as I share updates on my various Autumn-interest bonsai trees from my garden collection.

Maple Trees

Above is a cluster of various Maples I planted together last year when they were only a few inches tall.

Since then they have been wired into these topsy-turvy shapes. They have leaves displaying softer tones of sherbet orange and raspberry pink.

This cluster of trees were also planted together, however, they were encouraged to grow straight upright, as most Maple trees do.

Here is one tree that radiates luck. A single Japanese Maple that I scooped up out from the yard. It has been pushing out tiny branches and leaves all year, and has shown signs of good health.

Japanese Maples are certainly not native to my area, however they do spread seeds fairly far from the neighbor's yard. Finding one that flew and grew into my yard was a bit a precious luck.

Looking down from the top of my cover photo tree. All the leaves have uniform red tones. It has a wild curve, and the woody stems are starting to thicken into a shiny caramel bark.

The dreamchaser pictured here is the grouping of Japanese Maples.

Planted into the sailing ship pot, the three trees represent the masts of the ship. They have a darker red than the one I found growing in my yard. and the leaves are the shape of serrated stars.

Apple and Cherry Trees

My Chinese Dragon shaped tree. It has green and peach yellow leaves.

Another similar tree with a wispy style.

And this one styled to have a more elegant arching branch.

The trunk has thickened a bunch this year.

Deciduous Leaf Fall Results

A few weeks later, many of the red leaves have fallen off.

On close up, we can see next year's buds are already formed on the tips of every branch.

Since the leaves are so vibrant, I planted these in this box shaped pot I made with the watermelon colored glaze, and the cherry glazed inset panels.

And here is the cover photo tree again, a few weeks later, after its leaves have dropped.

Notice the wire bite lines from months ago are now forming twisted bark designs to enhance the dramatic curves of the branches. Perhaps the bark deformity has even caused the trunk taper to enhance near the base.

Truly a living work of art.

Thank you for taking the time to enjoy my wonderful family of fall bonsai trees. Autumn flowers and colorful leaves are a rare treat to enjoy annually.


Photos in this post are all #originalworks by @creativetruth, unless stated otherwise.

TeamBonsaiSign.png

#teambonsai @hive-193614 #hive-193614 #bonsai

No memberships. Love trees. Make friends. Grow together.


CreativeTruth.png

#maples #japanese-maple #cherry-tree #apple-tree

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center