Berlin Walk and My Thoughts / ベルリン散歩と考え事(My Actifit Report Card: September 1 2024)

Last night, I took a walk around the Kreuzberg area in Berlin, and today I visited an African festival being held near my hotel.

In some parts of Kreuzberg, I was startled to see rats scurrying across the street, but thankfully, there was no such issue near the shop I was headed to. A few years ago, someone had shown interest in the onigiri molds we make, but I didn’t notice the message on Instagram for two years … 😅 Finally, after three years, I was able to bring our Onigiri Maker. It was a good visit.

Kreuzberg at night felt even more crowded than before, with lots of young people out and about. Unfortunately, I felt that the area’s safety might have declined, and I think I would have been a bit nervous walking around if I weren’t familiar with the neighborhood.

The African festival in the morning was still in the early stages, with some stalls still setting up, and the crowd was sparse.

This allowed me to quietly browse the shops selling handicrafts. I had the chance to chat with some of the vendors and ended up buying beautiful fabric from a mother and daughter who were running a shop together.

![](

I’ve been wanting this kind of African print fabric for a long time. They said it’s from Gahna. I can’t wait to get home and start sewing a skirt with it.

Just as Tokyo, a city I once loved so much, has now become a place I visit for fun, Berlin might be turning into a place to visit as well. At my age now, I like silence.

I couldn’t help but reflect on these thoughts as I observed the changing city of Berlin.

👟👟👟

昨晩ベルリンのクロイツベルクエリアを歩いて、今日はホテルの近くで開催されていたアフリカフェスティバルを見に行きました。

クロイツベルクの一部地域ではネズミが道を横切るのを見かけてゾッとしましたが、お目当てのお店のエリアではそんなこともなく安心しました。以前、私たちが作っているおにぎり型に興味を持ってもらったものの、私が2年もメッセージに気づかず、3年経ってようやくおにぎり型を持っていけました。

夜のクロイツベルクは若い人たちで賑わっていて、一層人が増えた気がしました。治安が悪くなったのを感じつつ、土地勘がなかったら一人で歩くのはちょっと迷うなと思いました。

朝のアフリカフェスティバルはまだ準備中のお店もあり、来場者もまばらな中で静かに工芸品を扱うお店を見られました。

お店の人にもゆっくり話を聞けて、お母さんと娘さんがやっていたお店でガーナの布を購入しました。長い間こういう感じのアフリカプリントの生地がほしかったのです。家に戻ったらさっそくスカートを縫いたいです。

私にとって、あんなに大好きだった東京は遊びに行けばいい場所になってしまったのと同様、ベルリンもまた遊びに行く場所になったのかもしれません。

変わりゆくベルリン を眺めながらそんなことを思うのでした。
This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


01/09/2024
10702
Walking, Shopping

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments