π‘»π’“π’šπ’Šπ’π’ˆ 𝑻𝒐 π‘Ήπ’†π’Žπ’†π’Žπ’ƒπ’†π’“ 𝑻𝒉𝒆 90𝒔 - White Guys CanΒ΄t Jump but can they Rap?

_be6caf58-4a1f-4d3e-a114-0cc5e0ea7539.jpeg

Thank God ItΒ΄s #NinetiesFriday!

Last week I got into the wonderful world of parenting:
π‘»π’“π’šπ’Šπ’π’ˆ 𝑻𝒐 π‘Ήπ’†π’Žπ’†π’Žπ’ƒπ’†π’“ 𝑻𝒉𝒆 90𝒔 - When Did Parents Turn Pussy?

The good thing about being Dutch is, that your parents do not listen to the lyrics. And they did not listen to rap at all.

I started on LL Cool J and Beastie Boys. Back in the 80s wanting me to knock my mama out and fight for my right to Partyyyy!


Then we got Hammerwd on Vanilla Ice in 1990.

Yes I admit I bought the whole CD when it was in the extreme discount section but back then I had the tape. And I played that funky music.

Did you know that Ice Ice Baby was meant as the B side to that Funky song, and got to be....well whatever it is today. But he had something

Anyone ever really listened to this one?

I even liked that Snow Guy, you know the guy from Informer, and yes I admit my taste was under construction, but that song was catchy af.

Like Vanilla said....somebody stop me...oh no that was;

And as soon as Vanilla got stale we jumped on to something else.

Because maybe white guys can't jump but they can rap like hell about jumping around.

I kept jumping and meanwhile did some cop-killing while listening to Ice T:

I wanted to play Evil Dick, but that was too easy, Cop Killer got Banned, but when Body Count is In The House you feel the love!

Oh damn, you're telling me Ice T is not white, then why the F does the Bro use guitars?

I guess the Judgement Night soundtrack proved that whatever we call black guys today do enjoy rocking out.

Judgement Night!!!!

I loved that crossover stuff, at least till the beasty boys were back and sabotaged the shit out of me:

Then the Beastie boys were back competing...nahh never not the Beastie Boys but the East Coast West Coast BS got real-

Suge against Dre, but what if .... Tupac would be alive to Battle M.

Unfortunately, Death Row did what it says, Death for Tupac and the world at the feat of Eminem. And yes he was the jewel, the cherry on the cake of white rap.

He was the new Elvis, To do black music so selfishly And use it to get myself wealthy (Hey) There's a concept that works 20 million other white rappers emerge.

Now when this beef escalated it was already the 00s but it was the main reason why I went to D12, DMX, 50 Cent, and Marshal. I was too afraid he would go early like Elvis and knowing Suge Knight there was a serious risk of Em doing a Tupac.

Thank all the Gs he did not!

I got to see them all, but to be honest, rappers live on stage...

I donΒ΄t know man.

Most kinda sucked, not the beastie bros of course, but DMX and 50 nahhh.

ItΒ΄s not for me, but That House Of Pain were awesome live and so were these insane clowns piggies:

But at the end of the '90s, EminemΒ΄s prediction became real and 20 million whiter rappers emerged. And they all wanted to be whiter than the other but I have saved the whitest rapper for the end (Just imagine saying that about rappers of color)

Oh btw I just remembered that we also had a white French rapper, such a baby but well it was better than those cross-dressers from Kris Kross.

Kris Kross would make who Jump? Guess that jump was not meant for a white boy like me, because we canΒ΄t jump or at least I canΒ΄t then again I canΒ΄t rap well either.

At least the youngest rapper ever, that French Jordy did not make me jump. But he had a worldwide number 1 rap song at the age of four. Making those jumping boys of color look like a bunch of Boomers.

Like I said in the title, white guys might not be the best at jumping but they have proven they can rap if even a white French Baby Rapper can get a hit.

_9e5f66af-0a76-4489-9018-c83608c794db.jpeg

I guess nowadays with all the diversity going on there is no longer that significant split between colored rappers and white rockers we had back then. But boy did I love that cross-over period.

Thank goodness you made it till the end Pees, Love and I am out of here!

#NinetiesFriday was brought to you by

image.png

WTF do I do on #NinetiesFriday?

Well, don't do what I do because I just stole the below as it is good enough for copy/pasta!

But some ideas are music, movies, television, sports, or really anything Nineties related.

I assume movie, tv, or music topic reviews or talk will be most common, but you could also talk about a sports memory or something else.

Think the Pop Culture of the times, but it would be great to hear about little known and interesting bands or entertainment items. Don’t forget to use tag #NinetiesFriday

@geneeverett will give 3 basic income units to a winning random post every week that uses the #NinetiesFriday tag. Also @thebighigg has jumped in to match for 6 total weekly prizes! If anyone else wants to sponsor with 1 unit let me know or just send if you don’t wanna commit to weekly πŸ‘


All images by MyI and AI except for the stolen #NinetiesFriday image of course.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments