What do Bach, violin and a game have in common?

IMG_20201030_121828.jpg

Wednesday evening.

I came home hungry, and a bit tired and I think I am starting to feel the first signs of a coming migraine. I felt it this morning already but the day somehow passed and it didn't develop into one of the episodes. Plus, I feel a bit off these days, many things I do I mess up. Ok, not many :D but still, it is kind of annoying knowing that you make a mess or get involved in strange things you can't influence to get better. But dear reader {is there any?} don't worry! This rant & complain type of paragraph is finishing right now as that state of me when I came home finished thanks to... thanks to music.

Well, not just music, but also my son who was hyped enough to talk about the pieces he plays right now. I was focusing on another thing, but he asked (maybe demanding attention) am I not interested in the pieces he plays!?!

Legit question.

I left my stuff and then we started analyzing the Violin Concerto by Haydn and the second Partita by Bach, listening to good recordings, checking the positions and hard passages he has to play, commenting on the crazy parts that he is learning etc. A normal mother-son chat (if both of them have musical minds). Then he took his violin and played one of the pieces we were commenting on. The Violin Partita no.2 in D minor. I guess the neighbours also had the pleasure to hear it, as believe me, the violin is much louder than the piano, so sometimes I have to remind him not the play at 10 PM. Or later. (the other day it was almost midnight while he was still trying to compose a counterpoint exercise he got as homework, but that time he was on the piano).

Back to Bach! {this sounds cool lol}

He practised the Allemande and Sarabande from the following composition:

video source

Just to be clear, this is not my son 😁
It is a violinist, Shunske Sato, who shows distinct performances. You can read more about him if you click on his name, but he actually came into this post just as a performer of the composition we talked about. The whole Violin Partita is very difficult, the last movement is the famous Chaconne, so that's why my son at the moment plays just some parts of this iconic piece.

Wow!
Hearing this piece played by my youngster felt great. I was proud.
Being off? Not anymore, forget it hahaha. Maybe it was because of Bach, or his attempts to play it (as obviously, he has a long road in front of him to make it perfect) but I got a lot better. However, the violin now had to go back to the case, as I don't want mad neighbours and police on the doorstep 😂

IMG_20201030_121736.jpg

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

I even feel that good that I will finally announce the right answer that I asked a few days ago in this guessing game post. It was a post about my dream, written down with many details so I hope that all those who maybe read it didn't get bored a lot. Let's hope. Also, there was a shown organ and a question about the year when it was made.

Thanks to all who made their guess. I really appreciate your time and willingness to play, every guess made me happy! Let's see them:

@edprivat - 1760

@alex-rourke - 1890

@littlebee4 - 1899

@wrestlingdesires - 1901

@whywhy - 1927

@hoosie - 1932

I am sorry to say that there is no correct answer, but the closest guess will be the winning one. The organ in that church was made and installed in:

1912

The closest guess was the one that @wrestlingdesires made!

Congratulations, a small detail will arrive soon in your wallet. But once again, thanks to all those who decided to participate!! 😇

In case you want to back to Bach, here comes once again, but just the last movement of the above-mentioned composition.

mipiano_-_MP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center