A piano that transformed itself into an organ...?

IMG_20220508_124415.jpg

Saturday afternoon goes by so fast, it's the weekend and I want to enjoy every moment and make it last much longer, but time doesn't stand still. And it's already dark, even though I know I still have a few hours before I go to sleep. It's not bad either, sleeping and resting. And dreaming. And if I still remember the dream the next morning, then it's even better.

I was so happy a few days ago because I remembered my dream from that night. No, this time there was no apocalypse, and instructions on what to do when it happens. This dream was positive and much longer, and much more detailed, down to the little things I saw and remembered. The sense of hearing was also triggered because there was music in the dream. Hallelujah!

But this is not the music that I heard and also played in my dream. I guess you would like to read my dream first? If yes, keep on reading. But if you are not interested, skip the next 4 paragraphs. Seriously! 😁 So, from the moment I remember... I was walking in a centre of a nice city, in Portugal. (I know it was that country, I have that very certain feeling that I know where are the places from my dreams, but when I try to find them in real life, they are not there 😂). Maybe some other dimension is playing the game here, but I just can't prove it yet hahaha. Strolling through the streets, seeing people, buildings in different colours, many windows... Shops, randomly appearing flowers, the murmur of people and happy feelings that I am there. It was not just an ordinary trip, seems that I was there as something big had to happen. It was not happening in 2022, but can't define if it was in past or in future. Hmm... the feeling is like when you have a memory of nice things from your childhood, but I am not a child there. I arrived at a square and saw a tall tower, very similar to the tower of the New Town Hall in Munich. Many details on the facade, and I wanted to take a photo of it. From my bag, I took out a white tablet (I recently took it from my son as he doesn't use it so I try to organize there my piano scores) and wanted to shoot a photo.

Oh, you know what happened? A lot of foam started to come out from the gadget. Something like white bath foam, growing and bubbling so I tried to remove it but it was not possible. Just worse. More foam. A woman approached and we started to talk a bit, I forgot about the foamy pad and town hall, and I followed her to a place, that would not be her house, nor the office but maybe a place she had some gatherings with other people. Seems that they just finished a session of something (a gathering, a ceremony, a religious act, a meeting? that detail was not revealed to me). I was just standing in a side room that was full of bookshelves, paintings on the walls, so many wooden and clay decorations on the shelves, on the massive wooden table (that btw was a mess, as many books, papers were all around on the top of it) and wooden decorations were even on the top of the upright piano. There was a window on the right side wall, looking towards the square and all those nice buildings and people. The piano was close to it, but the whole room was not very bright, it was more half-dark, calm, with light coming from that window, but not direct sunlight that would bother the eyes. It was just perfect.

The upright piano that I mentioned was antique and of brown colour. I saw a lot of things on top of it, among them two wooden figures, representing some humans or gods from prehistory, not really something that I have ever seen in real life. I approached the old instrument and started to play a piece by Ludovico Einaudi. I was playing the middle part of Nuvole Bianche, and to my surprise, it became difficult to play. The keys were sticking down and the sound was late, compared to my finger actions. I even had some mistakes, and I started to be annoyed, why it is happening as I play that piece without any effort and on autopilot mode in real life? The answer came before I finished the piece, the piano actually transformed itself into a kind of an organ, and the piano technique I have was not suitable for it. Well, it stayed tall as an upright piano but it also resembled the small organ, as in the first photo. This instrument also decided to betray me. But again, no hard feelings, I was accepting everything with a smile and wonder actually.

I don't know how, but in one moment the woman who picked me up from the street was sitting on the piano bench instead of me and started to play a classical piece. (It doesn't exist in reality) I was watching the scores while she was playing, and wow - she was doing it very well. Complicated rhythmical figures and triplets in semiquavers appeared in one bar, and the style was a fusion between baroque and romanticism. Not really organ sound, but between the old upright piano and organ. It was a virtuoso composition but calm and majestic at the same time. I still observed the scores and her playing, but then it finished. My dream was over, or at least, I don't remember what happened later. I think it finished there as I opened my eyes so that was it.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

For those who read my dream - congratulations and thank you for taking your time. For those who didn't, it is also ok, as there is something else in this post, not just my dream.
Triggered by the piano that transformed itself into an organ, I remembered I have some photos of that instrument. The first photo, the small organ was taken in Altea, in the entrance area of one concert hall.

The photos you will see in the continuation are taken in one church, but I can't reveal where, as there would be a question for those who like to play a guessing game today!!

So let's see how this organ looks. It has two keyboards, many buttons to change registers and pedals for the feet.

IMG_20220707_191639.jpg

The organ is an instrument that has tubes from where the sound comes out. Every key has a preselected tube from the keyboard, so if I press a key or a pedal, a turbine blows the air to the tube that corresponds to that key, and the sound is produced.

IMG_20220707_191920.jpg

The tubes are behind the place where the organ player sits. When you play it and choose a loud register, who whole church can hear it loudly... well, you too :D

IMG_20220707_192025.jpg

I had the opportunity to play exactly this organ several times. I didn't use the pedals though. However, I have to tell you that this instrument is not in great condition, it needs to be fixed but there is nobody there in the area who could do it. It is not a big town, not a big and important church so those who would know to fix it are not bothered to come and waste their time. The organ in this church was already changed once, in the past. The first one was built in 1795 by an organ maker Caspar Fischer. It was replaced by the second organ, which is shown in the photos.

When?

That is my question for you today :))

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Can you guess the year this organ was built?

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

The first who gives the correct answer will be the winner. If there is no correct answer, the winner will be the person with the closest guess. I will announce the correct answer and the winner in a few days :)

If you don't like this question, but you still like to try to guess a music-related topic, you can visit the post by Whywhy and make your guess there :)

Have fun!!

mipiano_-_MP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
59 Comments
Ecency