FROSTY MORNING ON THE OUTSKIRTS OF PULA

The morning in the city of Pula was cold and sunny today. I had to buy some stuff there. Stuff that I can't find in my hometown. I woke up very early. More than an hour before the opening of the stores that I needed to visit ...

img_3076_malo.jpg

... so I decided to spend some time in the forest park on the outskirts of Pula, just behind the last suburban homes.

img_3081_malo.jpg

I started my morning walk in the pine forest, a very humid place with plenty of dew on the ground.

img_3079_malo.jpg

Only after passing through this tunnel ...

(Enlargeable)

... and reaching the open meadows ...

img_3116_malo.jpg

... I found myself in the frosty winter wonderland.

img_3095_malo.jpg

I mean, the overall atmosphere wasn't actually that spectacular to be called a wonderland ...

img_3101_malo.jpg

... but the details were kind of amazing ...

img_3115_malo.jpg

... and so, since my focus naturally leans towards small things ...

img_3087_malo.jpg

... I was able to enter the wonderland ...

img_3103_malo.jpg

... for free.

img_3089_malo.jpg

Here you can see the icy crystals on the Galium aparine plant.

(Enlargeable)

Patterns created by the many leaves of these plants ...

img_3084_malo.jpg

... that were growing and spreading horizontally on the ground ...

img_3088_malo.jpg

... looked great with the frost that accentuates the shapes through contrast.

(Enlargeable)

The simple grass also created rich and interesting textures in these frosty conditions.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see the reeds behind the frosty grass.

(Enlargeable)

In this shot, you can take a better, wider look at the scenery.

img_3105_malo.jpg

These are the leaves of the blackberry shrub.

img_3106_malo.jpg

Each type of leaves has its own brand of elegance.

(Enlargeable)

Many leaves have fallen from the surrounding trees.

(Enlargeable)

Mostly oaks.

img_3119_malo.jpg

Different kinds of oak. Different species.

(Enlargeable)

There was a nice variety displayed there on the grass.

img_3121_malo.jpg

Here you can see a folded leaf of some different kind of tree. Don't know which one exactly.

img_3094_malo.jpg

There was a bit of ice in the small puddle on the muddy stretch of the road.

(Enlargeable)

It was still pretty cold, but with the sun getting stronger ...

img_3091_malo.jpg

... the frost was melting pretty fast.

(Enlargeable)

The same morning environment looked pretty different in this new light.

(Enlargeable)

In this picture, you can compare the old and the new look.

img_3124_malo.jpg

Here you can see the melting frost ...

img_3123_malo.jpg

... on the long, fibrous leaves fallen from the reeds.

img_3127_malo.jpg

I was walking up and down this narrow path that passes by those reeds.

(Enlargeable)

There was a recently plowed field in the distance, behind the reeds. And some houses behind the field. The area was rural, but the place didn't look like a village. More like a suburban neighborhood detached from the city and thrown into the woods and fields.

img_3125_malo.jpg

This is the Dipsacus fullonum plant. The desiccated, winter version of the Dipsacus fullonum.

img_3141_malo.jpg

When I reached these oak trees fifty or so meters further ...

img_3132_malo.jpg

... I took a look at the sky ...

(Enlargeable)

... and my attention got caught by the powerlines.

(Enlargeable)

I don't know ... somehow they look kinda cool today.

(Enlargeable)

Surprisingly cool.

(Enlargeable)

So I took a couple of shots in search of interesting compositions ...

img_3142_malo.jpg

... before walking to the car parked by the road, on the edge of the pine forest. Some minutes later I was driving towards the supermarkets a couple of kilometers from there.

AS ALWAYS IN THESE POSTS ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK - THE END.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center