Making a pair of slippers with foam sheets

Hello members of the Diyhub community it’s a great privilege to share this creation of mine with you all.

A little backstory before we dive into the creation process of this beautiful pair of slippers.

image.jpeg

So prior to this time I always thought I sucked at creating things with my hands. I mean I could think with my brain to proffer solutions to challenges around me and the rest but when it came to creating things with my hands I’d chicken out because I felt I was going to screw up before I even begin.

Just recently I decided to give a shot at being “creative” with my hands.
A week ago I made a mini hat from a disposable cup and I got some really great comments from that post and I was shocked.
The more I read the comments the more I felt motivated to give this whole DIY thingy a long shot and guess what? I’m doing it guysssss and I’m loving it😃

Back to the main focus of this post.
For making this beautiful pair of slippers, these are the materials I used.

Materials
Foam sheets
Scissors
Gum
Disposal plate
Cardboard paper

image.jpeg

Step 1
I started by drawing the shape of my slippers on a cardboard paper which would serve as the sole of my slippers.

image.jpeg

Step 2
I neatly carved out the already drawn shape on my cardboard paper. Emphasis on “neatly” because you don’t want the edges of your slippers to be rough.


image.jpeg

image.jpeg


Step 3
Use your carved sole to draw the shape of your slippers on your foam sheets and remember to draw this at the back of your foam sheet.

image.jpeg

Step 4
Carve out the already drawn shape just the way you carved out the sole earlier.

image.jpeg

Step 5
Now you have your sole and your slippers all carved out.

image.jpeg

Now it’s time to bore a hole right into your slippers.
You would need to bore the hole in three different parts of your slippers, the essence of this is to enable you create a strap that ensures the slippers fit, what would our slippers look like, without a strap? Ensure that the holes are tiny to prevent them from expanding when you put in the straps.


image.jpeg

image.jpeg


Step 4
This is the point where you make your straps. To create your straps you have to cut a little piece of your foam sheet and make sure it’s the perfect size to go through the hole you bore already. Make four straps for each pair of your slippers.


image.jpeg

image.jpeg


Step 5
Pass your straps through the holes and do this carefully.


image.jpeg

image.jpeg


Step 6
Turn your slippers over. Gum the extra straps to your slippers properly, this is to ensure the straps are firm enough and are in order.


image.jpeg

image.jpeg


Also, apply gum to both the sole of your slippers and the back of your slippers
Join both the sole and slippers together after a few minutes.


image.jpeg

image.jpeg


Step 7
You can decide to use any design of your choice but I decided to make do with what I have.
I carved out the gold circles from a disposable plate and I attached them to the slippers.


image.jpeg

image.jpeg


Voila, your pair of slippers is ready!!

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

What do you think about my pair of slippers? Is this something you would love to try? I’d love to read your thoughts in the comment section.

All images are mine except otherwise stated.

Thanks for stopping by
Loads of Love🥰🥰
XOXOL

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center