Commander Deck Brew: Narset, Enlightened Master

At the end of January, I shared a Commander deck built entirely with creature cards due to Ruric Thar, the Unbowed's triggered ability. Now I am ready to share the polar opposite: a deck where the commander is the only creature card! Like Alesha, Who Smiles at Death, this is another attempt at brewing a three-color deck, and I again anticipate considerable revision after I see how this plays and continue exploring my collection of cards for better synergy.

narset.png

Narset, Enlightened Master (image credit) has power 3, toughness 2, first strike, hexproof, and a triggered ability which states, "Whenever Narset, Enlightened Master attacks, exile the top four cards of your library. Until end of turn, you may cast noncreature spells from among those cards without paying their mana costs."

If I design a deck with no other creature summon spells whatsoever, the only cards which might be lost to her ability are lands. I'm not sure yet whether this constant land exile threat will cause problems. For now, I will include lots of artifacts, enchantments, instants, planeswalkers, and sorceries I can hopefully play for free. The enchantments are my main defensive tool, especially when they let me steal an opponent's creature or lock down their abilities. Hopefully token generators will make up for the lack of creature spells.



This likely needs more ways to stack the deck by scrying, and I may want to make better use of token generators. I know I have more planeswaker cards that fit this theme, and she has some such versions herself. I will need to decide whether to lean more into making Narset a Voltron powerhouse or generating more support, too. I probably need to find my Ring of Xathrid, and I may need to swap some artifacts for instant and sorcery spells that add more storm effects.

The real challenge with this deck will be staying alive and active until Narset can be played, though, so mana ramp with artifacts will probably still be important. Are you interested in future posts about what changes in this deck after I have some time to play it? What cards would you suggest adding? Comment below, and maybe I'll toss you some $PIZZA!


468x60-3.png

You'll more likely win just a few Satoshis per hourly spin, but it's an easy way to dip your toes in the Bitcoin ecosystem. Referral link.

PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center