Commander Deck Brew: Alesha, Tiny Leader?

A key aspect of EDH/Commander is the myriad ways a deck can be adjusted and upgraded, but there are also variants to the format. Even preconstructed decks offer a lot of room to tweak and adjust for better synergy, so I hope this series of posts inspires you to try brewing a build that fits your play style.

First, as I commented in the last installment about this particular deck, I'm not convinced the mana dork myr quartet I had was the best for overall synergy. I replaced them with Nomad Outpost, a three-color land; Manalith, a mana rock for fixing color balance; Redeem the Lost for instant-speed insurance; and Auramancer for the opportunity to fetch the ten or so enchantments in this deck from the graveyard.

Manalith

Second, I would also like to highlight some other formats you may want to try, like Tiny Leaders. The first deck I ever built with Alesha was an ad hoc Tiny Leaders deck with little synergy. This format is similar to standard EDH/Commander, but with the following major exceptions:

  • Starting life is 25
  • Decks must contain exactly 50 cards
  • All cards must have a converted mana cost (CMC) of 3 or less

It also has its own ban list, so I had to remove all cards costing CMC 4 or more and Sol Ring from the deck before I even began considering what to keep. Here is my improved list using cards pulled from the standard 100-card Alesha deck.



This is just a possible subset of the viable cards, but I think it offers the best odds of playability. Some of the artifacts may need to be replaced with creatures, though. What do you think? Have you ever tried any other niche casual formats for Magic: The Gathering? Good comments may earn $PIZZA, so chime in!


468x60-3.png

You'll more likely win just a few Satoshis per hourly spin, but it's an easy way to dip your toes in the Bitcoin ecosystem. Referral link.

PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center