Painting Meditation - Creative Process

Via this post I would like to share with you a few ideas on how to tell the story through your painting, by showing the process of painting the piece, I created, a couple of months ago;

dsc_4288_3_.jpg

Meditation;
Acrylic on canvas;
100 x 73 cm;

I decided to paint a figure in meditation with the help of my notebook, using previously drawn sketch.

dsc_4678.jpg

It was cold early morning. I sat on the floor in the half lotus position, facing the mirror and sketched the basic drawing on my canvas.

Just as I was half way done, in my lap, settled Monica, the dog you can see in the final painting. I decided to adjust and sketch the dog also.

dsc_4158.jpg

I drew the basic structure by observation and lowered the center of painting to the height of the solar plexus.
That location is also known for Manipura chakra. It is believed that Manipura - the third chakra, provides a source of personal power.

I continued the following day, using my memory and imagination.
Being a plant lover, I decided to surround the main characters with plants you can find in my living room.

I am using acrylic because it is vibrant and dries fast.

dsc_4682.jpg

Now it is time to place basic colors throughout the painting.
I am choosing cool blues and greens for background, and warm tones to enlightened certain spots, achieving the warm-cold contrast.

dsc_4185_1_.jpg

The state of meditation is a state of oneness.
In order to convey that message, I am using all the colors found in the background, plants and dog's skin while painting the human character.

While painting the dog, I am inducing the shades of the same blue color I used in the background and conveying the message about the effect of the cool air upon the dog's body.

dsc_4193.jpg

Being affected by the cool air, the dog is seeking for additional heat source.
So, later on, I will be inducing warm colors while painting Monica, on the places where her skin is in direct touch with additional heat source - my legs.

While looking at finished painting, the viewer concludes that the dog sat in the person's lap in order to warm herself, exactly how the story played out in the real life.

Final product:

dsc_4288_3_.jpg

Thank you for reading this post;
Have a peaceful day

If you wish to see my latest artworks you can support via Instagram page - https://www.instagram.com/petrakostanjevac/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now