Trip to Puerto Galera - Philippines

In my first real posting (Not counting the introduction), I take you to Puerto Galera, on the Philippine island of Mindoro.

boven water010.JPG

Puerto Galera is recognized by UNESCO as a Man and Biosphere Reserve in 1973.
Coming from Manila you can reach the destination by boat or by seaplane. It took us about 2 hours with a small bangka. We had to take this vessel because my plane arrived too late in Manila to take the ferry.
Iphone053.JPG

There is a lot to do in Puerto Galera. You can enjoy the white beaches, go for snorkeling on the beautiful reefs, swimming in the underwater cave, parasailing, waterski, ... It's all there.
If you're more a land based person, you can walk to the Tamaraw Falls and enjoy the nature.
Sorry but I don't have any pictures of these activities. I came here for diving :)

Iphone030.JPG

Bay.JPG

We stayed at Blue Ribbon Dive Resort, located in Small La Laguna Bay, in the Sabang area of Puerto Galera. This place is perfect. Not too crowded and enough places to have a nice time. Sadly I just find out the place has moved now to Anilao. But still with the same crew. So a good reason to plan Anilao. The crew was very friendly, very professional Dive guides and most important: really nice food! Every friday they had a bbq with delicious meat, fresh fish and seafood and superb side dishes. I really miss the food.
bbq.JPG

If you walk along the water, you find little stalls where fresh seafood is sold. Right out of the water and ready to eat!
Iphone037.JPG

Puerto Galera has a lot of restaurants with delicious food. All my travelling in the Philippine learned me one thing: it really depends on the place and island what kind of culinary experience you will have.

food.JPG

That's all for now folks. In my next posting I will take you to some dive spots we did here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center