My Journey to Becoming a Young Hiver: Attending the Hive Orientation at Paharuhay

Blog covers.jpg

What's up, Hivers? I hope you are all doing well because today, I will be sharing to you on how I got interested in joining this wonderful community—Hive.

It all started when one of my friends was scrolling through an app named PeakD during break time in our school.

I had just returned from the canteen when I noticed @iamcheerfellll looking through her phone, and the app's name immediately piqued my interest. I approached her and asked her about the app, and she shared that it was a blogging app that was also comparable to other social media platforms (if I recall correctly). She told me how the app helped her improve her writing skills and allowed her to meet individuals from all around the world.

450427503_496171803085979_8162350865615397846_n.jpg
(Screenshot taken from PeakD website.)

I am someone who enjoys writing, and hearing this from her ignited my fascination, so when @iamcheerfellll invited me to join, I thought about accepting it, but unfortunately things did not go as planned after we were constantly bombarded with a lot of tasks at school, and I realized that if I joined during that time, everything would become hectic as well. So I preferred not to pursue it for the time being, but when our classes ended and @iamcheerfellll invited me and my friends to join Hive again, I grabbed at the chance and told her I would join.

On July 13, 2024, I finally had the opportunity to attend the Hive Orientation at Paharuhay Café with @iamcheerfellll and Miss @callmesmile. I was overjoyed to finally have the opportunity to meet new people, mingle, and improve my writing skills, which I know would be useful in the near future. I got to introduce myself to my fellow young hivers and learn about their hobbies, which was great because we had a lot in common. Miss @callmesmile led the orientation; she was really considerate and approachable when I first met her, and I was delighted that she was the one who oriented me and the other young hivers. I am really thankful to @iamcheerfellll and Miss @callmesmile for giving me the chance to interact with the awesome people here in Hive.

450658615_3827892417434174_4489786710745174503_n.jpg
(Photo taken by @iamcheerfellll)

Miss @callmesmile provided us to great food from Paharuhay Café after the orientation, and I really enjoyed the Lumpia. The fresh taste of the greens and protein, as well as the pleasant smell of the seasonings, could be smelled just before taking a bite, and each bite was accompanied by a loud crunch. I've tasted a lot of Lumpia made by different individuals, but the Lumpia at Paharuhay Café was worth trying on multiple occasions. I'm actually planning on visiting Paharuhay Cafe again soon.

photo_6102426445285539002_y.jpg

After the orientation, Leah, one of the young hivers and a classmate, told me, "Let's go visit the campsite." Hearing that startled me because there was a campsite in Tabogon. It was my first-time hearing about it, so I told Leah, "Sure, let's go." Of course, I wanted to explore the campsite; who wouldn't? I want to make my visit to Paharuhay worthwhile.

photo_6102426445285539000_y.jpg

I went to the campsite with @iamcheerfellll, @trigonometrayz, @jenajean and the other young hivers, but before we could enter the place, we had to pay 40 pesos each for the walk-in fee. After paying and listing our names, we began our journey to the campsite, which I assumed was only a short walk away, but it wasn't. Seriously, it wasn't.

At first, we were just walking and talking while I and the other young hivers got to know each other better. The road promptly became hilly and slushy and we had to slow down to be safe along the way. Fortunately, there were bamboo fences to hold onto for support, but the walk was not as easy as it appeared. After traveling down, a rough and muddy slope, we arrived at a section of the road where stone fragments and concrete stairs appeared to us as an obstacle. There was even a sign indicating whether we should take the easy or hard way.

photo_6102426445285539001_y.jpg

Believe it or not, we went the hard way, and it was truly the hardest way! We climbed the mountain by cemented stairs or a pile of stones. and I would count every single tree or lamppost to determine whether we were close to or far from our destination. It was a challenge for someone who does not go hiking very often, such as me.

photo_6102426445285538999_y.jpg

However, as we went higher and closer, the panorama became magnificent. Every time we stopped to rest, I looked behind to see the view from the summit, which I couldn't help but love. This fueled my desire to climb higher and reach our target faster because I know the view will be even more spectacular.

photo_6102426445285539003_y.jpg

When we ascended to a higher vantage point, I turned around once more in excitement, and I was in awe as I watched the scene before me. The mountain range looked like it was stretching endlessly while their peaks looked like it collided with the tranquil, clear blue sky. I couldn't resist but take a picture of the view for this was proof of how mesmerizing the harmony of the land the sky was.

photo_6102426445285538998_y.jpg

After a few minutes of walking and hiking, we arrived at the campsite, and it was well worth the time and effort. The instant I walked inside the campsite, I felt as if I had stepped into a fantastic novel. The woods, vegetation, and cabins were exactly how every author would describe them in their works.

photo_6102426445285539004_y.jpg

photo_6102426445285539008_y.jpg

@iamcheerfellll showed me around and we took photos together, along with Leah. We took solo and group shots where we can see the other mountain range on the other side of the campsite.

3 shots.jpg
Photo edited by me using Canva.

After snapping pictures, @iamcheerfellll and I decided to take a break on this massive swing made of ropes at the back of the gigantic water tank. We lied down on the swing and enjoyed the scenery together. We talked about various topics, caught up on what we had missed, and even discussed how our lives were doing these days.

photo_6102426445285539009_y.jpg

It was an enjoyable conversation since the atmosphere was so peaceful, and the view did an excellent job of making us feel cozy, calm, and at peace. At the time, I told myself that nature was beautiful in every way. @iamcheerfellll and I talked for a few more minutes before we decided it was time to head home. The trek back was easier than the ascent, and our chat continued along the way. When we got off the campsite and a bus to Maya Bagay arrived, I waved farewell and thanked everyone before getting on the bus back home.

That would be all for this part. Thank you, Hivers, for giving me the warmest welcome. I hope that aside from learning from all of you, I hope you can learn from my experiences and stories too.

Thanks for stopping by! Have a great day! (1).jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now