Wholesome Food Pleasures

This month we celebrate Nutrition Month. The theme for this year's celebration, “Healthy Diet Gawing (Make It) Affordable For All,”

Grey Aesthetic Spring Moodboard Polaroid Photo Collage Your Story.jpg

The price of the goods today is like the price of gold, that's why we are planting vegetable and fruits in our backyard . And the time has come for us to harvest what we have planted. July 5, 2023. Around 8 am I passed by our yard and noticed that our mulberry plants were bearing fruit. There are so many fruits but the ripe fruits are only few. I took the ripe ones and planning to make a mulberry shake.

Around 3 pm, mom said that I should dig the cassava plants roots because it might have a fruits already. and mom is right.. The cassava roots are to big it just like a size of my arm .

image.png

After harvesting the cassava I cooked it in 2 ways

The first way is my own version of cooking a cassava chips.

Ingredients:

  • Cassava Roots
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Oil and pan

First I peel the skin of cassava and slice it into like chips shape

image.png

I put some salt in it in order to taste.

image.png

Then I prepare heating the oil. Once the oil is hot I put the cassava in the oil. I wait around 5 min or until it turns into golden brown .

While waiting for the cassava chips to fry. I make a mulberry drink.

image.png

Then after that put some sugar on the chips and ready to serve!

image.png

The second way is a recipe version of my father

Ingredients:

  • Cassava
  • Sugar
  • Banana leaves
  • Oil
  • pan

Chop the cassava roots into small cubes

image.png

In the next process we need a grinder or you can use they called “gadgadan” or in English grater

image.png
(I thought it would never finish this, suddenly the grinder overheated, yun pala just wait for the machine to cool down again and be ready to use again) akala ko mapapabili ako ng grinder ng wala sa oras..haha

image.png

After that long process you can now add sugar in the grated cassava. And mix it very well

image.png

after that wash the banana leaves and brush some oil in it . then put the cassava in the banana leaves.

The cassava should be in a thin layer so it cooks very well and makes it crispy.

Brush some oil in the pan and put the cassava in the pan then cover it . the fire should be in a very low volume of heat so it will not burn the banana leaves inside.

If the color of the cassava turns into a golden brown it is already cooked.

image.png

Remove the cassava kasama yung banana leaves in the pan . …
This is very delicious when it is serve hot .

I want to invite @jpatrick28

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now