Going Home After a Long Time

Pastel Colorful Aesthetic Minimalist Elegant Bohemian Home Furniture Interior Design Basic Presentation.gif

It was September 14 that I left home and lived in another city. It was only in October 29 that I got back. I think this was the longest time I was away from home. All I can say is it's good to be back, even for a short time.

I am a college student already in fourth year. Since face-to-face classes was approved for our fourth year after years of online learning, I have to move out of my house and live in the dormitory. My university us two hours away from home so I really had no choice but to leave.

I had experience of living in a dormitory when I was in first year. But, having experience does not always mean it would get easier. I know it would still be hard to be away from home.

Being away from home meant being independent. My mama wouldn't be with me anymore to help me. I only have myself.

It's been more than a month since I went home. This weekend was a long one because of the holidays so I grabbed this opportunity to ho home.

It's good to be home again.

I bought some 'pasalubong' for my family. I bought these donuts and ensaymada for us to eat when I go home. The donuts were really cute.
IMG_20221030_160445.jpg
If you're wondering about that one weird-looking donut, I think it's a halloween-themed one. I think it just got disfigured due to the shaky travels.

The ensaymada, if you're not familiar yet, is a soft pastry covered with sugar and topped with a lot of grated cheese. It's really delicious.

I rode a public utility van at 10 AM and dropped off at my city plaza at 12noon. My father was waiting for me and there, I road our tricycle so I can finally go home. But, we went first to our market because my father has something to buy.

IMG_20221030_160517.jpg

He asked me if I wanted watermelons, which I agreed the he bought me one. He also bought some coconuts. I couldn't take a picture because I was busy holding the fruits so they won't roll over. My hands were occupied.

And finally, I got home. One of the reasons I wanted to go home was because I missed my dogs. They were the first ones who greeted me. I couldn't have been happier.

IMG_20221030_165517.jpg

Without further ado, I went to eat because I was so hungry from the travel. My mama cooked sinigang na hipon with small crabs and dinakdakan. I couldn't take a picture again because I was really hungry. I went straight to eating!

Sinigang na hipon is a prawn soup dish. It is a sour, refreshing soup that really go well with rice. Dinakdakan is grilled pork meats, fat, liver and ears dressed with vinegar, calamansi and a lot of red onions. They were really delicious.

IMG_20221030_165831.jpg

For the dinner, my mama cooked pancit gisado. Unlike the usual pancit bihon, its noodles are thicker. It is stir-fried noodles with variety of vegetables and pork. I really like my pancit n
with a hint of calamansi and ate with rice. Because for Asians, rice is life.

I was really tired after the travel. After playing a few games in Mobile Legends with my squad, I went to sleep.

Then morning came. Mornings at home is less hassle than my mornings at my dormitory. I don't have to cook my food early in the morning. I am not that much of a morning person so I can't move that much in the morning. Sometimes, I skip breakfast because I have no energy to prepare my meal.

IMG_20221030_160406.jpg

But, this morning my mother cooked me boneless bangus. It was homemade and I really liked it. Boneless bangus is milkfish sliced in half and marinated with vinegar and some seasonings, I think. It's think bones are removed so it is easier to eat.

IMG_20221030_160342.jpg

And mornings aren't complete without coffee. I like mine black with a little sugar. It was a peaceful morning. I did not have to worry about my day when I'm at home.

There is really no place like home.

(First photo is edited in Canva. Other photos are mine. I used my phone camera, realme 6i.)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now