Finding Happiness Offline: Journey to Social Media Break

What's Up Hivers!

How are you feeling? I hope you are doing fine.

Let me share my journey in trying to step away from social media.
But this isn't all about "quitting media forever" kind of blog. It is more on a conscious effort to pause for a while, re-evaluate myself, and of course reclaim my time and mental space.

For a while, I found myself spending more time scrolling through feeds than actually living my life. The highlight reels and endless comparisons, from seeing toxic posts like rants about their personal lives, repetitive scrolling and constant notifications. So, I decided to take a break as it were affecting my mental well-being.
I don't know if I am the only one who's experiencing this kind of feeling.

Enjoying the slow mornings like these.
1000001762.jpg
Going to work with a peaceful mind, and oooh with a peaceful road πŸ˜…

1000001766.jpg

1000001765.jpg
(Morning view inside the Bogo City Hall)

The feeling of fulfilment everytime I start my work.
1000001728.jpg

Without the distraction of social media, I can truly focus on the tasks at hand and I find myself savoring the present moment much more.

1000000877.jpg
(Appreciating the beauty that surrounds meπŸ₯°)

I have been away from facebook for almost 2 weeks now. And I can feel that there is a sense of peace and calmness. Ironically speaking, stepping away from social media has led me to prioritize real-life connections.

I'm having more face-to-face meetups, and cherishing the quality time spent with loved ones and friends.
Speaking of cherishing the quality time, @bingbing1218 and I visited a newly opened store named "MOMOYO Ice Cream and Iced Coffee" here in Bogo City.

1000001735.jpg

1000001737.jpg

1000001738.jpg

1000001820.jpg

Sharing some of our sentiments and what stresses us at work πŸ˜…. I never thought that we have the same vibes. It was very nice to have a moments and conversations like this one.

1000000675.jpg
(Quality time with fam πŸ₯°)

Going back, I have found a new sense of calm and clarity that comes with not being bombarded by negativity, or the pressure of online trends. No judgement, just be yourself.
This journey helps me to have more quality time with the people around me, leading to a less stressful and calmer life.

We know that social media connects us with loved ones, sparks creativity, and opens doors to new information. But on the other hand, it can also be a breeding ground for envy, anxiety, and a constant feeling of needing to "keep up", and "compare" your achievement to others.

It's not all sunshine and rainbows, though. I admit that a slight fear of missing out lingers in the back of my mind. But honestly, the benefits far outweigh the anxieties.

So, if you're feeling overwhelmed by social media nowadays, you can try to take a break for a day, a weekend, or even a week. And see how it makes you feel without social media.

By reconnecting with our old hobbies, exploring the nature that surrounds us, or trying a new skill, it simply brings us joy and fulfillment every day. I know true friends will understand and support our need for a break. Just let them know how social media affects your mental well-being.

I am not against to people who choose to continue using their social media. This is just my journey, and I'm still navigating it. But one thing's for sure: stepping away from social media has been a positive step towards a calmer, more mindful way of living for me.

Do you ever feel the need to disconnect from social media?

These are just my realizations lately. Thank you so much for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now