Praha or Prague drink on a beer Saturday

Hello Hello Hivians

Food and beer they go hand in hand

Today is my birthday so I am cheating a wee bit. As is my want!

The actual beer I am having today as I write this post you will see next week!

Today however, I wanted to showcase a tasty beer I had last night, which as the clever clogs amongst you will realise comes from Prague in the Czech republic or Czechia as it seems to know now.

Prague happens to be one of my favourite European cities and one of our best Christmas holidays was in Prague a few years ago. Seeing snow in Wenceslas square was something magical.

It was also the place I had my first self-serve beer years ago!

So the beer today is Staropramen from Praha

I will go arse about tit and say it was damn tasty!

Now we can dig in and have a review ...

The Brewery

Jan Kohout and Vilem Pick had a dream to make a perfect beer by using nothing but the best ingredients, and after a few attempts they managed to create something truly special. Using authentic Saaz hops, special sorts of barley and yeast, they created a beer known today as Staropramen.

The screenshots and quotes today are from the beer website which you can find here Staropramen

If you know me, then you will know that I tolerate lagers or light beers but that I am a dark beer man at heart. Just like my beer, I like my women dark too!

Enough of women it is the beer I am here to talk about ... So let's see it

The observant amongst you will notice the pup on the glass. Funny story there as Mrs T loved it and halfinched it on our Silver Wedding anniversary on a ferry from Newcastle to Amsterdam. The beer it contained was Dutch, and a mystery prize for anyone who knows the answer. Comment below and there will be a clue in a later picture ....

So yes this was a cheeky prebirthday drink last night and I had it whilst we had some awesome Chinese food.

I have been having tests all week or so and was back at the doctors yes getting some news. Results being all normal apart from high inflammation scores which as I have ankylosing spondylitus is not surprising. Although they gave no answer is to what is wrong that made me go do the tests in the first place...

My beer yesterday was to celebrate my normal liver and kidneys and all the rest. Quite an achievement after all the drinks I have put away in my quite a few years!

Maybe I should be having their 0% alcoholic beers, but truth be known I have rarely drunk in the last three years. Only on special occasions!

And birthdays are a special occasion ....

I did actually take a premeditated picture for this post and this is it!

Remember I said about commenting what beer the glass contained....

here is a clue ....

The beer did have quite a malty taste which I like, I dunno it just feels like you are having a beer and not just drinking fluffing water!

It did have that lovely amber colour which is quite inciting there is nothing worse than that insipid pale yellow colour which is reminiscent of dishwater or worse yet pale piss!

It goes equally well whether sipped or chugged, yes there was more than 1 bottle involved!

Talking of bottles .... I love embossed glass which the glass drinking vessel displayed but so did the bottle ...

Since we are on the topic of bottles ... I take my hat off them because did you see the fluffing size ....

Yes it is 660ml! Now we are talking ....

The price ... I can't remember but it was reasonable I know that!

THE VERDICT

Oh fuff yes ... I will be buying again!

image.png

Posting about a beer on a Saturday on the Beer Community ....

It is a whole bunch of fun, so check out The #BeerSaturday Challenge - Week 372

Next to @detlev who was a huge Beer advocate when we were on tsu many years ago, the biggest beer affecianado I know on Hive is none other than @godfish and when I did pick this beer at the supermarket yesterday I did so with him in mind.

My football team Rangers signed a played on load a couple of weeks ago and he scoried his first goal. Actually the first skillful player Rangers have signed for ages...

He gave him a good review ... the player is Václav Černý and we signed him on loan from Wolfburg

This is #BeerSaturday week and I would like to invite @godfish to write a post in any language about beer with at least 3 pictures.

Thanks for visiting and enjoy the rest of your day!

image.png

All images and ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman TengoLoTodo Photos taken with Mrs T's smartphone.
@tengolotodo August 17th 2024 (12 Premium 4 VR)

DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND DO IT OFTEN

Haste Ye Back!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center