Beer Tasting: Union Hoppy Lager & Willianbrau Superforte

Hello, beer lovers! 🍻 😎 🍻

How are you? I had a pretty busy day today, I did some work outside even though it rained all day.
But I had in mind the 284th #beersaturday and beer tasting as a kind of reward for the work I've done.



Two cans of beer in front of me, one Slovenian, new on the market, and one Belgian. But will there be any surprise? We will see.

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

Union Premium Hoppy Lager


Brewed by Pivovarna Union (LaΕ‘ko), Ljubljana, Slovenia.
Can, 0.5l, alcohol 4.6% ABV, 25 IBU. It's a Hoppy Pale Lager style, which means lager with enhanced hop aromas and flavors.

What do the Master Brewers say?

A brand new bouncy lager that convinces with its lightness and rich flavor.
An excess of hop aroma gives a sweet caramel note that leaves an elegant coffee bitterness in the aftertaste. Lovers of full, layered flavors will enjoy every sip of Hoppy.

Yes, that's the new beer in town from the most significant commercial brewery in Slovenia. People here mostly drink Union lager, which, if you ask me, sucks.


btw: that's Peter Kozler, founder of the Union brewery in 1864.

The beer is light yellow in color, and the head is solid and fades quickly. It smells of fresh hops. It goes down the throat smoothly, and the bitterness increases in the mouth, I thought it was an IPA, but it wasn't that bitter, I also detected a discreet citrus note, the sweetness of the malt more in the background.
In the aftertaste, only the bitterness remains for a while.


Fresh and drinkable beer. It has a lot more bitterness than a regular lager, it looks to me like a session IPA. I definitely find it much better than a standard Union lager. It's now available in all the shops here. I'm sure a can will end up in my fridge.

I'd rather not comment on the design of the can because I think it's awful...

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

Beer meme? Yes! :) 😁


🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

Willianbrau Superforte


Brewed by Brouwerij Martens, Bocholt, Limburg, Belgium.
Can, 0.5 l, alcohol 8.3% ABV. Strong Pale Lager style, which means a pronounced malty flavor and alcoholic strength with less hoppiness.

Surprisingly, the master brewers have no comment on this beer ... we'll have a look for ourselves ...


The beer is clear golden in color, with little head. It has no odor. It flows smoothly down the throat, the sweetness of the malt dominating the palate at first, the bitterness of the hops being barely perceptible. It tastes of honey, bread, and resin, slightly spicy, probably due to the high alcohol content.

In the aftertaste, however, everything disappears.


What do I know? Drinkable, sweeter than bitter, alcohol is too much. I mean, there's probably nothing wrong with it, but I'm not used to that sort of thing. It doesn't feel like a Belgian beer as I know them.
It's very unlikely that it'll be a guest in my fridge.

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

And what am I listening to as I write this?
Something from my last #newtunes post. Something vintage and melancholic, a combination of early sixties psychedelia and seventies pop.

Broken Bells - The Chase


🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

More stories about beers? You can go back a little further in history! 😁

2017 🍻 2018 🍻 2019 🍻 2020 🍻 2021 🍻 2022

Stay healthy and enjoy your beer!

u9su13.png

Take a look into Beer Community
if you want to read more Beer adventures.


And if you want to share your beer experience,
post your story to the Hive BeerSaturday challenge for fun.

BEER token is ready for you, too :)

Thanks, @detlev who started all this!

btw: There are two BEER Games in town:

BEER PONG, and BEERFRIENDS

🍻 😎 🍻

5% of the earnings of this post will go to beneficiaries of the community (@beerlover).

🍻 😎 🍻

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif

NFT Showroom Gallery
3Speak Channel
Photo Manipulation
Beer Tasting
Foodies

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency