Jack Black's Skeleton Coast IPA and Butcher's Block Pale Ale for #BeerSaturday

1.JPG


I remember the day when I walked into the shop to find my first real craft beer. I came across a small brewery at that time Jack Black who sold these really big IPAs - again, back then. Or to me at least, as these were my first real entry into the IPA and craft beer scene. I think I was 17 or 18 years old.

Now, on a recent trip to my fiance, I opened the fridge and her father bought me, unbeknownst to him, my two favourite Jack Black beers! If that is not a sign that the in-laws have accepted me, I do not know what is!

Either way, here is my totally biased and under-the-influence review of these two awesome beers.

Skeleton Coast IPA


IPA | 6.5% ABV | 55-65 IBUs


3.JPG

2.JPG


I asked my fiance to pour the beer for me. It is a slightly bigger glass (500ml) for a small beer (330ml). But I love these typical bar beer glasses.

But she poured it a bit too fast...

4.JPG


6.JPG

5.JPG


She sure filled that glass!

On to the tasting...

Jack Black's IPA, especially the Skeleton Coast, have a distinct smell. Underneath the classic hops, there is a deep and dark caramel undertone. The beer pours a bit cloudy, and the alcohol hits your nose almost immediately. But I love it.

The first taste reminds me of the first sip of craft beer I had. That is why this beer always reminds me of what I want to call "That Typical Old School IPA Profile" But this is highly subjective and linked to my personal memories of drinking this beer.

The beer has a full-bodied taste, warming me up as I sip on it (this is probably the higher ABV). Every sip I take is washed with the memories of me having the beer from my early memories. What a good beer! But this is extremely biased.

There is good lacing on the glass, after the incredibly beautiful white head. This beer went down smoothly.


8.JPG

7.JPG


Butcher's Block Pale Ale


Pale Ale | 5.4% ABV | 35 IBUs


Just as good, but not as good; a bit watered down, but only after comparing a bigger beer with a smaller one; easy drinking and good times... This is how I think and feel about the Butcher's Block. Once you go big beers you cannot go back. Your reference point is that big IPA, that bold and bitter espresso, that smokey whisky...


10.JPG

9.JPG


11.JPG


12.JPG

Just like the IPA, this is a big beer even though the ABV and IBUs do not really indicate this. It is a big beer nonetheless, but a bit watered down compared to the IPA above. It feels like the younger brother in the family, but it has its own uniqueness.

The upfront bitterness is not met with the caramel undertones of the IPA. There is also a bit of a yeasty aftertaste - which is a great thing in this beer.

This time around, my fiance poured the beer beautifully. At least, in my opinion!

And I managed to get some action shots in as well.

The smell was not as fruity as the IPA and not comparable to the New England Styled IPAs that flood the market these days.

It reminds me of the bold and heavy IPAs that you find in obscure breweries (at least, here in South Africa).

It comes close to the IPA.

14.JPG


13.JPG

15.JPG


16.JPG

In the end, unfortunately, every beer has to reach its limit, its end.

And so every visit comes to an end.

And sometimes the bitter taste of the IPA is a sweet reminder of what is to come, more family visits, more beers...

I hope that you have a cold beer this beautiful #BeerSaturday!

All of the musings are my own, highly personal drunken opinions. The photographs are also my own, with the help of my very sober fiance.

Inside the Philosopher's Beer Fridge


BavikBrews:
🍺 Super Wit
Belgian BeersBrews:
🍺 Duvel Tripel Hop Citra IPA
🍺 Maredsous Bruin
🍺 Trappistes Rochefort 8
Boet Beer Brewing CoBrews:
🍺 Boet Beer Lager
🍺 Boet Beer Easy Blonde
🍺 Boet Beer Pale Ale
Cederberg BreweryBrews:
🍺 Voertsek IPA
Cape CollectiveBrews:
🍺 Session IPA
Clarens BreweryBrews (All Brews Reviewed in this post):
🍺 IPA
🍺 Hazelnut Brown Ale: Clarens Goes Nuts
🍺 Stout
🍺 Tondon Pilsner
🍺 Village Lager
🍺 Weiss
🍺 English Ale
🍺 Blonde
🍺 Mulled Apple Cider
🍺 Red Ale
Darling BrewBrews:
🍺 Warlord Imperial IPA
🍺 Arrow Head Russian Imperial Stout
🍺 Long Claw Modern Saison
Devil's Peak Beer CompanyBrews:
🍺 Jucy Lucy Hazy IPA
🍺 King's Blockhouse IPA
Drakensberg BreweryBrews (All Brews Reviewed in this post):
🍺 Cathedral Peak Pilsner
🍺 Champagne Castle Blonde Ale
🍺 Giant's Castle Stout
🍺 Amphitheater Red Ale
Hey Joe Brewing CoBrews:
🍺 Session IPA
Mad GiantBrews:
🍺 Capital DIPA (in Collaboration with Capital Craft)
🍺 Killer Hop Pale Ale
Route 96 BreweryBrews (All Brews Reviewed in this post):
🍺 Zamalek Lager
🍺 Summer Blond
🍺 Africa Pilsner
🍺 Stout
Sabie Brewing CoBrews:
🍺 Dravidian Draught IPA
Saggy Stone Brewing CoBrews:
🍺 Bear Jam - Session IPA
🍺 Pale Weizenbock
🍺 Rocky River Pale Ale
🍺 Bomb Squad Lager
That Brewing Co.Brews (All Brews Reviewed in this post):
🍺 That Blond Ale
🍺 That Subtropical Ale (Delicious Monster)
🍺 That American Pale Ale (APA)
🍺 'el Juicy IPA
🍺 VESS KISS IPA
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center