Celebrating with Belgian Beers: Duvel Tripel Hop Citra IPA, Trappistes Rochefort 8, and Maredsous Bruin

1.JPG


Life called for a celebration. Not only did I propose to my girlfriend (something we still celebrate continuously), but we also celebrated the small moments that seem so fleeting, yet these fleeting moments are the very things we celebrated. For many, the grand, expensive, and luxurious are called for when celebrating. But we returned to the small thing, the taste of a beer, the taste of food, the presence of people around it. It is, to quote a quote from philosopher Gilles Deleuze, "to get drunk on pure water".


2.JPG


I remember the day in 2012 when I walked into a supermarket in the Netherlands. In front of me was a big aisle filled with different Belgian ales. None of them were expensive (to me back then). I wanted to buy them all. We bought a crate full of beer. I wanted to fly the bottles back with me (I then collected beer bottles - what a silly act as I think back now). But my love for Belgian beer started then.

3.JPG

My uncle, who lives in Belgium, always brings beer when he travels to us. This time, he brought with him a couple of bottles, including the Trappistes Rochefort 8. Luckily, most of our shops are selling some form of Belgian beer as well, so we bought the Duvel Tripel Hop Citra IPA and the Maredsous Bruin. Because we had cause to celebrate.

We don't often drink Belgian beers, because one they are expensive and two we keep them ready at hand when we want to celebrate. It is not always a celebration of something big, sometimes we just celebrate life itself. To be alive, to breathe, and to do what we want to do is something that calls for celebration itself.

But this time round, my father, my mother, and my fiance and I celebrated not just life, but the fact that I asked her hand in marriage.

So, we bought some beer, took from the fridge what my uncle brought us, and we cooked our favourite meal. Because what is better with beer than a good plate of food and good company?


5.JPG

Duvel Tripel Hop Citra IPA

The first beer that I opened was one that I wanted for a long time, the Tripel hop Citra IPA from Duvel. My father is a big Duvel and De Koninck fan, so we have a nice Duvel glass to use when we drink his beer! But this time round, I got myself the Tripel Citra hop IPA, and when I opened this beer it was worth the wait (and price!).

Hops aromas almost escaped the glass in a liquid form, as the hops emanated from the glass. It was really strong and heavenly. I immediately took a sip and it was everything and more that I expected. Hoppy and beyond, citrus in all of its glory, and the pine flavour so prevalent in most IPAs these days. All of this was riding on the classic Belgian beer flavours and body. It was a big beer in a big glass, and I could not stop sipping from it.

But there were other beers as well...

4.JPG


7.JPG

Trappistes Rochefort 8

I am not a 100% sure, but I think this is classic tripel beer. The Trappistes Rochefort, as far as I can assess, is an authentic abbey beer, brewed by monks in a monastery!

From the taste and alcohol percentage, I am also sure that it is a tripel beer.

And this could not get better. If you have never had a real abbey beer before, especially the tripel and quadruple, you are in for a treat.

The first thing that always hits me is the alcohol. It creates the most full-bodied beer that you can drink. The fruity flavours subdued a bit by the alcohol is next. And I always struggle to explain the taste of these heavy beers. It tastes like a tripel, I would always say.

It has a warm taste (perfect for cold winter nights), it is full-bodied, there are some spices, fruity notes. There is a subtle caramel note and taste, but not as intense as the beer below (usually bruin or double).

And then the nostalgia I feel for the overseas trip in 2012...

6.JPG


9.JPG

Maredsous Bruin

Funny thing, I am crazy about coffee and caramel and all of the things in between. But I always end up with the tripel or quadruple, where the bruin or double is more akin to these caramel, nutty, and deep coffee flavours. (Not always though.)

But this beer did not disappoint, it was complex and big, with all of the nutty, coffee, and caramel flavours it promised. It is not too heavy on the alcohol, not as much as say the tripel, and it is thus not as full-bodied. But it is still a big beer with all of the classic Belgian beer traits.

The pour releases all of these deep and almost toasty notes and aromas. The first sip does not disappoint; providing you exactly what you expected from the aromas and notes you received as you poured the beer.

But unfortunately, from all of the three, this one ended up on the bottom - there has to be a loser. However, even though it ranks last, it is still an extremely delicious beer; one which I would gladly pour myself again!

8.JPG


11.JPG

Postscriptum, or Cheers to Life

Once you go Belgian, you never go back.

These are heavy beers, with alcohol ABV % reaching over 10% at some times. It is not the go-to easy drinking beer.

But they are sure celebration beers! As you sip on them, they get better as they warm up a bit. The more you drink them, the more you want. Which is dangerous because of the high ABV.

However, they for sure keep their reputation high!

Cheers to life, to good beer, and good relationships.

All of the musings and reflections are my (drunken) own. The photographs are also my own, taken with my Nikon D300.


10.JPG

Inside the Philosopher's Beer Fridge


BavikBrews:
🍺 Super Wit
Cederberg BreweryBrews:
🍺 Voertsek IPA
Cape CollectiveBrews:
🍺 Session IPA
Clarens BreweryBrews (All Brews Reviewed in this post):
🍺 IPA
🍺 Hazelnut Brown Ale: Clarens Goes Nuts
🍺 Stout
🍺 Tondon Pilsner
🍺 Village Lager
🍺 Weiss
🍺 English Ale
🍺 Blonde
🍺 Mulled Apple Cider
🍺 Red Ale
Darling BrewBrews:
🍺 Warlord Imperial IPA
🍺 Arrow Head Russian Imperial Stout
🍺 Long Claw Modern Saison
Devil's Peak Beer CompanyBrews:
🍺 Jucy Lucy Hazy IPA
🍺 King's Blockhouse IPA
Drakensberg BreweryBrews (All Brews Reviewed in this post):
🍺 Cathedral Peak Pilsner
🍺 Champagne Castle Blonde Ale
🍺 Giant's Castle Stout
🍺 Amphitheater Red Ale
Hey Joe Brewing CoBrews:
🍺 Session IPA
Mad GiantBrews:
🍺 Capital DIPA (in Collaboration with Capital Craft)
🍺 Killer Hop Pale Ale
Route 96 BreweryBrews (All Brews Reviewed in this post):
🍺 Zamalek Lager
🍺 Summer Blond
🍺 Africa Pilsner
🍺 Stout
Saggy Stone Brewing CoBrews:
🍺 Bear Jam - Session IPA
🍺 Pale Weizenbock
🍺 Rocky River Pale Ale
That Brewing Co.Brews (All Brews Reviewed in this post):
🍺 That Blond Ale
🍺 That Subtropical Ale (Delicious Monster)
🍺 That American Pale Ale (APA)
🍺 'el Juicy IPA
🍺 VESS KISS IPA
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments