Hungarian craft beer in the middle of Romania - #BeerSaturday challenge week 378

When I went on a trip to Timisoara, a nearby city in Romania, which is 150 km from Belgrade, on Saturday morning, I knew that there was no beer tasting for me.

I went by car, crossed the border and passed several patrols of police vehicles.

It would have been nice if I had gone by bus, so that I could have found some local pub that pours beer from Romanian craft breweries, but with a car, I couldn't argue.
I went on a non-alcohol trip.

We arrived in the center of Timisoara. We managed to make our way through several blocked streets (I thought it was probably a race...) and park the car in a parking lot right next to the central square of Themisvar.

This square was also very crowded, so we were sure that something was happening.
We approached a billboard on which it was written that the Hungarian cultural days of Timisoara will be held from September 26-29 in Timisoara.
We went to Romania and attended the days of Hungary 😄

We walked through the central city streets and when we came to a small square, I saw a stand. Of course, with draft beer 😁

"Beer is always a good idea" I read on the stand and thought "Why not" 😃

My throat was dry from the heat, and as we planned to walk for a few hours, I decided that I could still approach the stand and take a closer look at which brewery it is, which beers they pour and what their prices are. And drink at least one beer...

I don't know what the prices of Romanian craft beer are. The prices of these Hungarian ones were similar to those in Hungary, when we were in Szeged in the Malata pub.

THE FÓT BREWERY
it is 20 km from Budapest in the place of Fot. It is a family brewery, which started producing classic beers in 1994, and in 2000, with the advent of craft breweries, they started producing their own craft beers.
their production takes place on 120m², and their daily production capacity is 1200 liters.
they constantly produce 4-5 types of beer, while they offer 20 types.

Pilsner, Festival, non-alcoholic, Porter and IPA beer were on tap at the stand.
Eleven o'clock beer IPA was my choice.

Unfiltered beer with 6% alcohol.
IBU 48,
EBC 26, orange beer
Serving temperature 7-12°C.

Poured into a wide plastic glass, it's not really enjoyable to drink, but the hoppiness of the beer gave it a refreshing citrus note, which was very pleasant for refreshing in the sun.

I laughed at the beer advertisement on the stand and thought how true this is: While there is wisdom in wine, there is indeed freedom in beer, and all the bacteria are in water....

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now