Old Forester 86 Proof Review

CB8E6974-36AC-45AD-8E6E-3D125904BC9A.jpeg

Old Forester 86 Proof Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whisky is a well-crafted bourbon with a rich and smooth taste profile. This is a bottle that I have seen on the shelf and have passed over a few times as I like the orginal which is a slightly lower proof. However, I was at the cabin and decided to run to Meijer to grab something new for and ended up not passing it by this time.

Old Forester 86 has a nose that presents notes of caramel, vanilla, and hints of oak and spice. It's best right how out the bottle, but the nose is cut down a bit if you chill it. After it warms it start to bloom a bit more.

49002D98-7551-4277-A812-6C400521970A.jpeg

On the palate, it is smooth with a medium-bodied texture, delivering flavors of toasted oak, sweet caramel, and hints of dark fruit. It is pretty complex and with the higher ABV I thought I would just get that booze flavor, but I like that I could pick up all those more delicate notes. The finish is long and warming and is perfect for a cabin whisky. Compared to other offerings from Old Forester, the 86 proof stands out for its balanced taste and higher alcohol for a similar price as their flagship bottle. If you have followed my other reviews you know my Old Foresters collection is growing. It's not as good as the Statesman, but it's a solid offering that I would recommend.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now