Entry to CCC's Street Art Contest #212

Hiya Street Art enthusiasts. I'm back with another submission for the CCC Street Art Contest #212. Last week I finished in 2nd place with this large vertical mural that depicts a message of children's love conquering the boundaries of race and religion.

My submission for this week challenges the idea of what street art is and what street art can be. When most people think of street art, they think of graffiti-style pieces of artwork painted on the sides of buildings, walls, and other property. But does street art need to be confined to just paint on a wall?

1000021851.jpg

All along the Northern side of St. Nicholas Avenue between Starr Street and Willoughby Avenue, there are these marvelously decorated trees. Adorned with faces, wildlife, and illuminated hanging mobiles, these artisticly designed trees bring the Brooklyn block to life when the sun goes down.

For the purposes of this submission I just focuses on my favorite tree, but there are five more similarly decorated trees all along this block. I just like this one because of how colorful the butterflies are and my affinity for getting stoned. Here are some closer pictures of the decorations in detail.

1000021852.jpg

1000021853.jpg

1000021854.jpg

So what do you think about this submission? Would you consider this street art? How would you compare this physical 3D art using a tree as the medium to traditional murals painted on the side of a building? I'd love to read about your thoughts on the matter, so please let me know in the comments below. Until next week...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments