Entry to CCC's Street Art Contest #211

After learning about the StreetArt community here on Hive, I knew I had to get more active since I am blessed with a wealth of street art in my local neighborhood of Bushwick, Brooklyn in New York City, USA.

My only difficulty is choosing just one picture to submit for this contest, because I walk by so many great pieces and artists every day when I go out at night or just stroll through the neighborhood. I work only a few blocks away from where I live, and for anyone following my almost-daily actifit reports, maybe you've already had the pleasure of seeing some of the street art I captured for my daily activity journal.

1000021498.jpg

I love this piece that sits high up on 49 Wyckoff Ave, a building near the Northeast corner of Wyckoff Avenue and Starr Street in Brooklyn, NY. It shares a simple message with a very powerful picture.

It shows a young Jewish boy wearing a Messi jersey and a young Arab boy wearing a Ronaldo jersey walking in an embrace. Whether it is warring people in the Middle East or football (soccer) fans who support rivals in the debate for the greatest player of a generation, love knows no barriers.

The powerful message shows that even opposites can come together to forge bonds of love. Individuals are more powerful than the stereotypes that we perceive. This image gives me hope that maybe this younger generation will be able to look past the hate that has divided older generations. No differences over religion. No differences over players or teams.

Just two young people coming together for a shared passion (sports) despite having different backgrounds. I hope love can conquer hate and division. This picture gives me hope that peace is still possible and it is up to us to radiate love's resilience to look past differences and share life's wonder and beauty.

Thank you to Michelle Mayerson who commissioned the art and to the two artists who painted the picture: Chilean street artist De Grupo and Manuel Alejandro.

1000021508.jpg

This is just my first post of many to come in this street art community here on Hive, so please get ready for me to show Bushwick some love. I can't wait to meet all the people who make this community great and I look forward to speaking with you in the comments. Long live the amazing street artists who bring color and hope to a sometimes dark and cruel place. Until next time...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments