STREET ART #160 – Inspired by the sea in Hirtshals, Denmark

Acouple of weeks ago I was in Denmark to visit family. They live in Aalborg, but I always take the ferry between Kristiansand in Norway, to Hirtshals in Denmark. From Hirtshals I take the train to Aalborg. Hirtshals is a small port town with a history no longer than a hundred years. The town was established due to the construction of the harbour. This rather small town is dominated by the fishing industry and is one of Denmark's most important fishing harbors. Usually I have just taken the train immediately and traveled on, or arrived so late that I went straight on board.




What I did this time was to arrive several hours before the departure of the ferry. I made sure I would have enough time to explore the town and a walk along the harbor and up to the lighthouse. On the way along the harbour I came across this painting.





A mermaid surrounded by seagulls seems appropriate for a town dominated by fishing. The harbor is filled with seagulls when the fishing boats arrvive. The text at the bottom with where it's written «Sumo», refers to pupils from 3rd and 4th grade who have helped with the painting. I don't know if "Sumo" can be the name of an artist. When I googled, I found an artist with that name, but I don't think it's the same as in this case.



The harbor is filled with fishing boats and along the whole sea front there are factories that has to do with fish. I allways feel the smell of fish and the air is allways filled with lots of seagulls when the ferry arrives. To come across a mermaid, was a nice surprise.

You like street art? Join our street art contest ->
CCC's Street Art Contest #163 | 🎁 : 100% Liquid Payout and Ecency points as Prize Pool & Winners of #162


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or reblogs are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #159 – «Pinta Argentina» - Buenos Aires, Argentina


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)

[//]:# (!pinmapple 57.59221 lat 9.95400 long STREET ART #160 – Inspired by the sea in Hirtshals, Denmark d3scr)


Read about us? // Main page!
Follow us for our street art contest and blogs about travel, art, photo, crypto & gaming

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center