Sixth Day in magnificent Rome

I remember waking up that day with a different emotion, my grandmother had asked me to find the tomb of Saint Jerome and take a photo of it, since she is a huge devotee; so that was an important mission for me. We had some ideas and after some orientation from a priest in a nearby basilica, we realized that the tomb was in a church that was due to visit that day.

That Church was Santa Maria in Trastevere, a small temple that housed the remains of the saint, I took the picture and considered the mission accomplished. After this, we returned to the city center to have some typical Italian lunch, I was always debating between pizza and lasagna.

After lunch we visited the Arch basilica of San Giovanni Laterano, one of the four largest basilicas, located on the outskirts of the city; I must say that this basilica really fascinated me, it was one of the most beautiful places I had visited so far, in addition the place conveyed incredible peace.

In the central corridor we could see the figures of the apostles on the sides and a beautiful altar in the center, the truth is that I was moved with so much beauty and so many works of art, it was impressive.

I remember that we walked a lot that day, we wanted to visit one of the catacombs that are outside the city and we headed for them, but soon we realized that it was getting dark and that by the time we got there, it would probably be closed, so we decided to go back and see another place that was pending on our itinerary.

Back in the city center, we went to the famous Caffé Greco, which was beeing rebuilt at that time, but we could take some photographs at least, an uncle from Venezuela had recommended me to visit that place, unfortunately it was closed, so I can't wait to go back to Rome and visit it.

It was enough of adventures for that day, the travel itinerary had been fulfilled and we still had one more day to experience the eternal city, and also buy some souvenirs for our relatives, but specially to fix in our memory that charming city that was offering us such pleasant moments.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center