Merlion Magic: A Fun-Filled Day Exploring Singapore's Iconic Spots

Today, I hung out at one of the most touristy spots in Singapore; the Merlion! This is where you can strike your wildest pose, and trust me, no one’s gonna judge. I’ll show you why later in this post.

DJI_0737.JPG

So, the day started with nice weather. I had my mind set on checking out the Bayfront area, but by lunchtime, the weather turned hazy, and by mid-afternoon, it was already raining. I almost postponed my plans, but then, like magic, the skies cleared up around 4:00 PM, so I decided to go for it. I had planned to head straight to Bayfront, but I alighted at the Esplanade MRT station instead, because the Esplanade Theatres are just too cool not to include in today’s adventure. The architecture alone is enough to make you stop and stare; totally Hive post-worthy!

DJI_0676.JPG

But it’s not just about the buildings here; the theaters are surrounded by beautiful gardens that are worth exploring too. I had a pleasurable walk around along the walkways of the gardens and took a bunch of photos as well.

DJI_0683.JPG

DJI_0686.JPG

Before heading to the bay, I took a few minutes to soak in the greenery.

DJI_0687.JPG

DJI_0689.JPG

One of the highlights? This cool fountain, while not huge, has this flow that trickles down a stone-paved street, it looks like a man-made stream. It even cools down the surroundings with a light mist; it's a good method to make the environment comfortable to walk around.

DJI_0678.JPG

DJI_0684.JPG

DJI_0677.JPG

After snapping a ton of pics of the theaters, I finally made my way to the bay to capture more shots of the cityscape.

DJI_0697.JPG

DJI_0691.JPG

Now, let’s talk about Marina Bay Sands. This building is awesome; like something out of a sci-fi movie. With its futuristic design and that massive SkyPark that seems to float above the city, for me, it's the most iconic building in Singapore. It screams luxury and is instantly recognizable.

DJI_0701.JPG

Everyone wants to take their selfie and it has to be their background!

DJI_0705.JPG

But it’s not all about the photos. The Bay Area is buzzing with things to do. There are food stalls and hawker centers along the waterfront where you can grab some local snacks or a refreshing drink. If you’re up for something more, the Esplanade shopping mall has restaurants serving international cuisine and drinks, making it the perfect spot to unwind and watch the sunset over Marina Bay.

DJI_0723.JPG

DJI_0710.JPG

DJI_0712.JPG

DJI_0719.JPG

Just beside the mall is Gluttons by the Bay, a hawker food center packed with local and seafood dishes. The outdoor dining setup gives off a super chill vibe; perfect for hanging out.

DJI_0727.JPG

DJI_0728.JPG

DJI_0729.JPG

As I wandered along the walkways, I found this unique bench shaped like a giant pebble. It’s a great spot to take a rest after all that walking.

DJI_0722.JPG

To wrap up my day, I strolled across the Jubilee Bridge, crossing Marina Bay to reach Merlion Park.

DJI_0744.JPG

The walk across the bridge took me about 3 or 4 minutes, and it was a pleasurable one. The views were awesome, with tourists snapping photos left and right, using the bay and cityscape as their backdrop.

DJI_0748.JPG

When I finally got to the Merlion, the vibe was exciting. Tourists were everywhere, striking crazy poses with the Merlion, especially that classic shot where it looks like they’re drinking the water spouting from the statue’s mouth.

DJI_0741.JPG

It’s all about the angle, of course—no one’s actually drinking the water!

DJI_0738.JPG

I saw one girl who was hustling with her sign board that told everyone that she could take Polaroid photos of them of the famous Merlion statue. I think it's clever and I hope she will do well in her gig.

DJI_0743.JPG


DJI_0739.JPG

You could tell everyone was having the time of their lives, soaking in the views and snapping pics. If I were a tourist, I’d totally do the same. It’s one of those experiences you’ll laugh about later and share stories with friends. Such a fun day!


curamax.gif



View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments