community
"Late entry for Sketchtember Week 1"

Childe Fan Art Remake

IMG_20230909_201023.jpg

Submitting a late entry for Sketchtember 2023 | ArtPark Weekly's Week 1: Redraw a drawing from last year.

The challenge was to redraw a work from last year but I don't have any art works the past two years because of my hiatus so I just redraw a drawing that I felt like it wasn't the best that I made. They also said it's fine even if it's not a drawing from last year so here's my entry!

I wasn't so proud on my Childe Fan Art before except on how good I did on drawing the food but everything else looks so wrong for me. He was so skinny, the fingers are too thin, the body, the shoulders, and it doesn't look like Childe for me. So this time, since I might still not get Childe's look to be the same, I decided to not use his hair during his delusion form and go with the original one.

Illustration Process

Speedpaint

I attached my speedpaint first since I might not be able to explain the process well with pictures because a lot has been changing during the process and the pictures are not as accurate. But I also attached the pictures below to present the overall process that I did.

https://youtube.com/shorts/jDI5Ck1AoUg?si=5VcObnS34wQ7fpvO

Sketch

Yeah, this sketch looks really sketchy but I paid no mind on how not accurate it is and definitely trust the process. This must mean I kind of trust myself that I'll do well even if I messed up on the beginning. It kind of feels like things won't go the way I imagined it but still moved forward because I know I'll be able to create something beautiful.

CR01.jpg

Base Color

This is a no line art work so directly to the coloring! I actually did coloring by part but below is the general base color of each part that I made.

CR02.jpg

Face

The first part I always do is the face, specifically the eyes. Doing something that makes you feel nice is cool since I feel like I'm doing it right which is why I start with the eyes. Eyes are fun to color and really gives off a satisfactory feeling when done and it keeps me going. After the eyes is the face, since I wanted to see if I could achieve the expression that I imagined but couldn't sketch correctly. It is also weird if the face is not complete then I proceeded to another part lol.

CR03.jpg

Hair

For this part, I downloaded hair brushes so I could easily draw the hair while being strandy-like since on my last art, it was tough drawing and coloring the hair line by line.

CR04.jpg

Food

I went on a break during this process because I was overwhelmed by the details. I was so amazed on myself before because I was able to pull this off. But then, if I could do it before therefore I can do it today as well so I took my time and drawn this part slowly and not getting myself burnt out. It was a lot of work but is also satisfying. I also learned on how I can use the blend tool here instead of just using the blur tool. I also colored the hand in this part since I'm only going to color a little bit of fingers so it was a quick task.

CR07.jpg

Clothes

I'm still not good on how to color clothing since I'm not that great at imagining and putting the right crease on the right part. I just did basic shadowing here and used both blend and blur tool.

CR08.jpg

Background

For the background, it's what I usually do where I paint a bunch of colors and doesn't matter if it looks silly then blur it after. I searched for an eating place in Liyue for the background. (Reference)

CR09A.jpg

Finishing

After the background, I unhide the character and added some paints using a soft air brush in overlay mode and soft light mode and below is the result.

026 Childe Remake.jpg

Untitled22_20230823151423.pngUntitled22_20230828003757.pngUntitled22_20230823151407.pngUntitled22_20230823151413.pngUntitled22_20230823151417.png

I actually liked how it turned out even though it still have some flaws but it's much better than before. It looks better, it has more life, and it looks a bit more like Childe now. I'm not so proud of my Childe Fan Art before but I was glad I have a reason to finally make it right and redraw it. A chance to redeem myself to my art work? This must be it lol TvT. So, thank you for the challenge @artpark!

Childe Fan Art Remake

This is a cross post of @ynah.artchi/childe-fan-art-remake by @ynah.artchi.

Late entry for Sketchtember Week 1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment