Passion fruit shell dessert or passion fruit hulls [Eng/Esp]

I greet you, wishing you well and I wish you an excellent year 2024, full of well-being, fullness and good health.

I am pleased to be sharing this recipe today, a delicious dessert to start the year by sweetening our palate a little.

Les saludo, deseándoles bienestar y les deseo un excelente año 2024, lleno de bienestar, plenitud y mucha salud.

Me complace estar el día de hoy compartiendo esta receta, de un postre delicioso para comenzar el año endulzándonos un poco el paladar.

It is also very special for me because it is the first time I prepare it and I made it at my sister's house, which allows me to share it with part of my family, taking advantage of the fact that we were all together.

It's funny that I arrived at my sister's house just in time because she had just prepared a passion fruit cake and was about to throw away the shells, in fact she had put them in a bag and they were almost going straight to the trash.

Fortunately, they were not mixed with anything else for the moment and were clean, so I did not hesitate to take them out of the bag, wash them well, remove the whitish membrane inside and leave only the flesh next to the shell. I soaked them in water with vinegar for about 15 minutes and then I put them back in fresh water.

The truth is that I love passion fruit. I took some to prepare a juice for the family and I did not hesitate to take one of the ones I had to complete the ingredients and prepare the dessert that I am going to share with you, also known as passion fruit hulls...

Además que es muy especial para mí porque es la primera vez que lo preparo y lo hice en casa de mi hermana, lo cual me permite compartirlo con parte de mi familia, aprovechando que estábamos reunidos.

Es curioso que llegué a casa de mi hermana justo a tiempo pues ella acababa de preparar una torta de maracuyá y ya se disponía a desechar las conchas, de hecho las había metido en una bolsa y ya casi iban directo a la basura.

Por fortuna, no estaban mezcladas con nada más por el momento y estaban limpias, por lo cual no dudé en sacarlas de la bolsa, lavarlas bien, retirarles la membrana blanquecina que tienen por dentro y dejarles solo la carne que está junto a la concha. Las remojé en agua con vinagre por unos 15 minutos y volví a pasarles agua fresca.

La verdad es que adoro la maracuyá. Yo llevé algunas para preparar un jugo para la familia y no dudé en tomar una de las que tenía para completar los ingredientes y preparar el postre que a continuación les voy a compartir, también se le conoce como cascos de maracuyá...

As always, I would love to have you join me 😉

Como siempre, me encantaría que me acompañes😉



Ingredientes:

  • Las cascara de 8 maracuyás, más la pulpa de una.
  • 1 Limón.
  • 1 Taza de azúcar.
  • 5 Clavitos de olor.
  • Agua suficiente para sancochar las conchas, más 2 tazas para preparar el almíbar.

Ingredients:

  • The shells of 8 passion fruit, plus the pulp of one.
  • 1 Lemon.
  • 1 Cup of sugar.
  • 5 Cloves.
  • Enough water to boil the shells, plus 2 cups to prepare the syrup.

Preparation:

In my case I already had the passion fruit shells, washed and without the whitish membrane they have inside. They were ready to be parboiled, so I cooked them for about 40 minutes, together with the shell of the other passion fruit that I had, the pulp of this one I reserved.

After the indicated time, I pricked the inside of the shells with a fork to determine if they were ready. I let them cool and then removed the flesh from each shell with the help of a spoon. I set aside.

Preparación:

En mi caso ya tenía las conchas de maracuyá, lavadas y sin la membrana blanquecina que tienen por dentro. Estaban listas para sancochar, por lo cual las cociné por alrededor de 40 minutos, junto a la concha de la otra maracuyá que tenía completa, la pulpa de esta la reservé.

Pasado el tiempo indicado, pinché la parte interna de las conchas con un tenedor para determinar si ya estaban listas. Dejé enfriar y luego fui retirando la carne de cada concha con la ayuda de una cuchara. Reservé.

In the blender I prepared a juice with the passion fruit pulp and the 2 cups of water. I strained and poured the juice in a pot to take to the fire.

If you do not want traces of seeds to remain, it is not good to blend too much, however, in my case I like them to remain.

En la licuadora preparé un zumo con la pulpa de la maracuyá y las 2 tazas de agua. Colé y vertí el jugo en una olla para llevar al fuego.

Si no deseas que queden rastros de semillas, no es bueno licuar mucho, sin embargo, en mi caso me gusta que queden.

I put the passion fruit juice on the fire, added the cloves, the cup of sugar and stirred until dissolved, added the flesh of the passion fruit, stirred carefully so as not to break them and left over medium heat for about 30 minutes.

Llevé al fuego el zumo de maracuyá, agregué los clavitos de olor, la taza de azúcar y removí hasta disolver, agregué la carne de las maracuyás, removí con cuidado de no romperlas y dejé a fuego medio por unos 30 minutos.

--

After the indicated time the syrup had thickened a little and reduced by about half, I removed from the heat and let it cool. I refrigerated for a couple of hours and it was ready to serve. Although personally, at this point I like to add a little fresh lemon juice, it depends on each person's taste.

Pasado el tiempo indicado el almíbar se había espesado un poco y se redujo como a la mitad, retiré del fuego y dejé enfriar. Refrigeré por un par de horas y ya estaba listo para servir. Aunque en lo personal, en este punto me gusta agregar un poco de jugo de limón fresco, ya depende del gusto de cada persona.





Thank you for accompanying me 😉





Photographs of my property, edited with my phone./Fotografías de mi propiedad, editadas con mi teléfono.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments