My Veggie shopping 🌿 (Basil-Albahaca). We sow it with love. (Eng-Esp)

Greetings friends, lovers of delicious and healthy food, how are you? I wish your weekend is closing well for everyone 🤗

As soon as I saw the proposal of "Your Veggie Shopping" and that for this edition was basil, I got very excited. I declare myself a fan of basil and other herbs. But the one I love the most and have loved ever since I met it is basil.

The place where I live is very country. So when I moved here I learned about growing basil. It is common for people to plant and use it at home.

For example, we have this little plant in our backyard and we take care of it as much as we can. Because let me tell you that basil is very delicate. Basically, it should not get too much sun, nor too much water, nor should it be touched constantly or roughly. Neither smell it, nor look at it, nor let it know that you exist.... Just kidding the last three 😂

I admire this plant very much, because it has an incredible sustainable process. It is born, becomes very beautiful and then dries up little by little. It gives its own seeds, which are these little black dots that you see here, they fall to the ground and another basil plant is born again. All we do is squeeze it a little bit, throw it in the soil and half stir it into the soil.

So if you ever sow it, it grows all beautiful, but you feel that out of nowhere it started to dry up, don't worry, that's its natural process. After it gets lush, it starts to dry out itself, so it allows the dry seed to fall out and another plant is born. Wonderful.

And I also love that when it's really breezy the scent of basil wafts in through my kitchen window. Who couldn't melt at that? 😍

Some tips 🌱

If the leaf is like the first photo (somewhat more elongated and less wrinkled) it means it is tender, young and still has days left to be used. But if the leaf is like in the second photo (more wrinkled and bigger) it means that it is at the ideal point for cooking and should be used soon.

That the leaf looks green and fresh. Not yellowish.

I love to use it in any kind of sauce I make, such as: the traditional red sauce, green sauce or white sauce. In my opinion it gives a special flavor and aroma to the sauces.

To preserve it I like to tear some leaves, put them in a paper bag and place them behind the fridge. With that constant heat they dry out and I can use them already dried.

A tip I could give you is that when you put it in a preparation, do it at the end and not at the beginning. I think that way you can preserve the flavor of the basil very well. Besides, I feel that if I add it at the beginning it tends to make what I am cooking a little bit bitter. But of course, everything will always be to your taste 😉

Did you know these little things about basil, do you like to use it?
I'd love to read you in the comments.

Have a great Sunday, my friends 💜

Español 🌿

Saludos amigos amantes de comida deliciosa y saludable ¿Cómo están? Deseo que su fin de semana vaya cerrando bien para todos 🤗

En cuanto vi la propuesta de "Tu compra vegana" y que para esta edición era la albahaca, me emocioné mucho. Me declaro fan de la albahaca y otras hierbas. Pero la que más me gusta y me ha encantado desde que la conocí es la albahaca.

El sitio donde vivo es muy campestre. Así que cuando me mudé para acá conocí de la siembra de albahaca. Es común que las personas las sembremos y utilicemos en casa.

Por ejemplo, nosotros en nuestro patio tenemos esta plantita a la que cuidamos lo más que podemos. Porque déjame contarte que la albahaca es muy delicada. Básicamente, no debe llevar mucho sol, ni mucha agua, ni tocarse constantemente o de manera brusca. Tampoco olerla, ni mirarla, ni que ella sepa que existes... Es broma los últimos tres 😂

Admiro muchísimo esta planta, pues tiene un proceso sustentable increíble. Nace, se pone muy bella y luego se va secando de a poco. Ella misma da sus semillas, que son estos pequeños puntitos negros que ves aquí, estos caen a tierra y vuelve a nacer otra planta de albahaca. Lo único que hacemos es estrujarla un poco, echar en la tierra y medio revolverla en ella.

Así que si alguna vez la siembras, te crece toda hermosa, pero sientes que de la nada empezó a secarse, no te preocupes, ese es su proceso natural. Después de ponerse frondosa, ella misma empieza a secarse, así permite que la semilla seca caiga y nazca otra planta. Maravilloso.

Y también me encanta que cuando hay mucha brisa el aroma de albahaca entra por la ventana de mi cocina. ¿Quién no podría derretirse ante esto? 😍

Algunos consejos 🌱

Si la hoja está como la primera foto (un tanto más alargada y menos arrugada) significa que está tierna, es joven y todavía le quedan días para ser aprovechada. Pero si la hoja está como en la segunda foto (más arrugadita y grande) significa que está en el punto ideal para cocinar y hay que aprovecharla pronto.

Que la hoja se vea verdecita y fresca. No amarillenta.

A mí me encanta usarla en cualquier tipo de salsa que haga como: la tradicional salsa roja, salsa verde o blanca. A mi parecer le da un sabor y un aroma especial a las salsas.

Para conservarla me gusta arrancar algunas hojitas, meter en una bolsa de papel y colocarlas detrás de la nevera. Con ese calor constante se van secando y así puedo usarlas ya secas.

Un consejo que podría darte es que al echarla en una preparación, lo hagas al final y no al principio. Creo que así se puede conservar muy bien el sabor de la albahaca. Además, siento que si la echo al principio tiende a amargar un poco lo que estoy cocinando. Pero claro, todo quedará siempre a tu gusto 😉

¿Sabías estas cositas de la albahaca? ¿Te gusta usarla? Me encantará leerte en los comentarios.

Deseo que sigan pasando un excelente domingo, amigos 💜


png_20220630_044711_0000.png

Banner creado en Canva // Banner created in Canva.

Text of my authorship. Photos are my property, taken with my Realme 7 phone. Edited with my phone's editor. Cover image created in Canva.

Text translated using DeepL.com

Texto de mi autoría. Las fotos son de mi propiedad, tomadas con mi teléfono Realme 7. Editadas con el editor de mi teléfono. Imagen de portada creada en Canva.
Texto traducido utilizando DeepL.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments