Making Simple and Easy Kolak Taro - Recipes and Tutorials

1673346329180.jpg


Hello everyone, how are you today? I hope and pray that all members of the Plant Power (Vegan) Community will always be given health and happiness in living this life. This time, I'm back to participating in this community to share stories and recipes from simple foods that you can cook at home. Apart from recipes, of course there is always a story about the food I make, because my principle is that there is always a story in every bite of our food. Come on, continue to listen to my story this time.



Getting to know Taro
Do you know taro? I think not many people know about this food. In shape, taro is similar to sweet potatoes or sweet potatoes, because all three are almost the same type of plant, namely tubers that grow in the ground. In my city, finding taro is very difficult, and the price is quite expensive compared to cassava or sweet potatoes. In fact, according to my neighbor in his village, taro is very cheap, and he promised me that if he went to visit his village, he would bring me taro.

1673346329325.jpg
Why, can there be a difference in the price of taro in the city and in the village? one of the reasons I get, because many people consume taro for health reasons, one of which is as a substitute for carbohydrates for diabetics. Lots of medical literature on the Internet that recommends taro as a substitute for rice for sufferers in Indonesia and that makes many people in the city look for taro to eat.

In Indonesia, there is a stigma that if a plant is considered to have medicinal properties, there will be a price mark-up and the demand will be high. Moreover, the people in Indonesia and the city where I live really believe in anything that is herbal or natural products for health.

We're back about taro, after a while from my discussion with my neighbor. Finally, my neighbor kept his promise to bring the taro he had brought from his village. I get 4-5 taro with medium size. I tried to think, how should I cook this taro. There are three options, the first is to make fried taro, the second to bake taro into taro chips, and the third, I make taro into kolak. I saw that the taro that my neighbor gave me was of very good quality, and it seemed that it would be very delicious if cooked into kolak.



Kolak Taro
Before I share recipes and tutorials for processing taro into a delicious dish that we call kolak taro. I want to give a little picture or explanation, what is kolak?

1673346329275.jpg
In Indonesia, kolak is one of the traditional Indonesian deserts which is known by almost all Indonesian people. Kolak is the term used for a sweet gravy dish made from coconut milk, palm sugar / brown sugar and pandan. Usually, kolak uses ingredients such as bananas, sweet potatoes, or sweet potatoes.

The taste of this food is sweet and delicious, because of that it is often also a menu choice for breaking the fast when Muslims in Indonesia carry out the Ramadan fast. I have often made sweet potato kolak and banana kolak. This time, I will try to make Kolak Taro.

Ingredients
3 Taro medium size
500 ml of coconut milk
200 grams of palm sugar
3 pandan leaves
water



Kolak Taro Preperation :
Clean the taro and peel the skin. After that, the taro is cut into small and proportional sizes, then rinse thoroughly. Sometimes, taro releases sap when it is cut, the remaining sap can make the tongue itch. Therefore, washing taro thoroughly is very important.
1673346329344.jpg

After the taro is washed and cut, then add enough water. Put taro in a pot, then turn on the fire and boil the taro.

Cut the palm sugar into smaller pieces, then put all the palm sugar into the pot earlier. Stir the palm sugar until the water in the pot turns brown. Wait about 10 minutes until the water boils and the volume of water is reduced by about 50% or the texture of the taro is soft. While waiting, we prepare the coconut milk first.
1673346328952.jpg
1673346329003.jpg



Preparing Coconut Milk

I use one grated coconut to get about 500 ml of coconut milk. Coconut milk is made from grated old coconut mixed with water, then squeezed and filtered.
1673346328916.jpg

I use a blender to mix the water with the grated coconut.
1673346328866.jpg

After that, I filtered the coconut and coconut dregs using a strainer to get clean and thick coconut milk. Coconut milk is ready to use.
1673346329307.jpg



After the palm sugar and taro were completely dissolved, I added 500 ml of coconut milk to the pot.
1673346329042.jpg

Add three pandan leaves and wait until the taro compote is cooked. We can see the ripe taro from its soft texture.
1673346329098.jpg

Kolak Talas is ready to be served and eaten.
1673346329155.jpg



About Tastes

1673346329221.jpg
I tried to taste the taro compote that I cooked. Apparently, it also tastes very delicious. This Taro Kolak has a sweet and savory sauce, the sweet taste is just right and doesn't make you sick. Apart from that, I get taro with a texture that tastes very good and most importantly I cook this taro well and it doesn't make my tongue itch.


About Author


Call me Isdarmady, because I have a full name that is very long, namely Isdarmady Syahputra Ritonga. I am a head of the family who work as Farmers Vegetables Hydroponic and Consultant Hydroponics, sometimes I also sell coffee from various regions in Indonesia.
I have expertise dispensing coffee with a variety of techniques and tools brewing, because I have the desire to make a coffee shop with hydroponics as centerpieces. Help me realize that dream.

Thanks for read, vote, re-blog and support me in Hive. Maybe god will reward the kindness, let’s success together.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center