100% vegan paella from leftovers

10va.jpeg

VEGAN PAELLA.

10vf.jpeg

Hello, community and friends greetings today my post is about using leftovers and making paella. during Christmas, we travelled to Alicante and had a very good time. but because of the holidays, we couldn't find any good restaurant for dinner. and finally, we were in one Spanish restaurant. I heard from my friends about the famous Spanish paella and had high expectations when I ordered it. I love seafood but was quite disappointed this time.
But still, I kept the idea of how to make it in my mind. last week after different kinds of food for the holidays there were many leftovers in the fridge that I wanted to use up. After gathering all ingredients I made my "vegan paella" according to how i thought real paella was made. We have many different rice recipes In Indian cuisine but I never made food like this before.

1v.jpeg
Ingredients:
1.5 cups of cooked leftover rice
1 cup of home-cooked chickpeas with aquafaba also leftover.
2 cooked potatoes also leftover from the day before
1 onion
2 tbsp tomato paste
1 tbsp oil
1/2 paprika
4 sprigs of fresh coriander
1tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper.
1 leftover sweet potato which I found later.

2v.jpeg
This is my own recipe so I used some Indian spices
1 tsp kashmiri chili powder
1 tsp garam masala
1tsp coriander powder
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp cumin powder.
1 stalk celery
3v.jpeg

chopped onion and red paprika, coriander.

4v.jpeg

In an iron skillet I warmed the oil and stirred in the onion and paprika.

5v.jpeg

Added peeled potatoes chopped in small chunks, and stirred thoroughly.

6v.jpeg

Adding tomato paste in the onion-potato mixture.

7v.jpeg

Stirred for around 2-3 minutes until tomato paste mix with onion potato mixture.

7va.jpeg

Adding all the powdered spices coriander, cumin, chili, turmeric, and garam masala. stirred to mix it properly.

7vb.jpeg

Then salt and pepper.

7vc.jpeg

Poured chickpeas together with its cooking water/aquafaba into it.

7vf.jpeg

Gave a nice stir.

8v.jpeg

Now is the time to mix in the coriander.

8va.jpeg
finally, the rice was stirred in the mixture. I covered the skillet and cooked it for around 4-5 minutes on medium/low heat until watery consistency disappeared.

8vc.jpeg

I suddenly remembered there was one baked sweet potato in the fridge so I peeled and sliced it.

9v.jpeg

fried sweet potato slices in a small skillet using a few drops of oil.

10va.jpeg

Served with some onion rings, sweet potato slices and celery leaves.

10vc.jpeg

10vd.jpeg

Much better than what I tried in Spain. thank you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center