This content was muted by Plant Power (Vegan) moderators for not following community guidelines.

Oat Milk In The Market Is Expensive So Its The Time To Make My Own Oat Milk

Hello my dear friends…
Since i was young, my environtment taught me that cow milk is the best. Milk is the best. We should consume milk everyday for our health benefits. Everyone i know been saying the same thing. Yet, for some reason i have never like them. There’s this feeling in my gut that telling me to not like them and to avoid them. Well, as i am grow older and have more knowledge, i have realized that the feeling in my gut keeps telling me to avoid milk is right. Its amazing how our body can have some sensor in “feeling” or “instinct” type of way to tell us that something is not rught even when we have no knowledge and cant realize what it is about. Recently, i have realized that i am lactose intolerance in a hard way. So, i have to switch my milk to something else, a plant based milk.

There is many choice of plant based milk available in the market. It can be soy milk, it can be oat milk. I have tried both but both are doubled the price of the normal milk and well, its hard on me. Buying a milk once to twice a week for 3 dollar per 1 liter is taking a huge punch to my financial situation. Its way up my groceries budgets. It makes me skips buying milk which resulting in me skipping my oat meals. Its truly hard especially because i am trying to eat cleaner and healthier now, oats are delicious, filling, cheap, and easy to make. I have save a lot of time because i eat oat as my breakfast or lunch, or maybe snacks. Its better than spending 1-2 hours for cooking preparation and cooking time. It motivate me to make my own milk with my oats. I searched the recipe and it was so easy. I wonder why i have never think about it until now.

Oat Milk

There is only two ingredients in my Oat Milk, which is rolled oat and cold water (iced water). In many recipe we can find online, many put other ingredients such as maple syrup, cocoa powder, sugar, salt, etc but i have decided to put none of it. The reason is because i am not making this oat milk to be consumed as it is. I make them so i can make and eat cereals, oats, and smoothies with them.

For the measurements, i used 1 cup of oats and 4 cups of iced water. You can use any measurements but from all the recipe i saw, i liked the look of the oat milk with 1 : 4 ratio the most so that is why i decided to go with them.

Blend them with the fastest speed in 30 seconds. Appearantly, we have to avoid over blend them so the texture will not be slimy. There’s another option which to leave the oats covered with cold water overnight in the fridge, i have never trying them but its something that i definetely wants to make in the near future. I wnat to compare the taste of it.

This is what it looks like after i blend them. After this, i just have to filtering them with a cheesecloth. I didnt take any pictures during the process because its so messy. I bought the wrong cheese cloth, its too big and doesnt have any edges so the oat milk from the blender spilled everywhere.

Lastly, i put the milk in this milk bottle i bought especially for my oat milk and for 1 cups of oats plus 4 cups of water, i got two bottles of oat milk.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center