Sweet Potato Spread with Cocoa Flavor 🥔 🍫

Hello everyone! 😁 I hope you are having a wonderful day. Today I want to share with you a recipe that I consider practical, simple and completely delicious. My mother taught me how to make it recently, since I am going to class very early in the morning and she has been helping me with my diet. She prepares delicious and totally healthy things for me. This time, I want to show you how to make a cocoa-flavored sweet potato spread. It is perfect to eat with bread, crackers, or even alone. When it was finished, I suffered a lot and decided to do it myself so I could share it with you too.

¡Hola a todos! 😁 Espero que estén teniendo un día maravilloso. Hoy quiero compartir con ustedes una receta que considero práctica, sencilla y completamente deliciosa. Mi madre me enseñó a hacerla recientemente, ya que estoy yendo a clases muy temprano en la mañana y ella ha estado ayudándome con mi alimentación. Me prepara cosas deliciosas y totalmente saludables. En esta ocasión, quiero mostrarles cómo hacer un untable de batata con sabor a cacao. Es perfecto para comer con pan, galletas, o incluso solo. Cuando se acabó, sufrí mucho y decidí hacerlo yo misma para poder compartirlo con ustedes también.

Ingredients

Ingredientes

  • 1 kilo of sweet potato 🥔 🍫 1 kilo de batata
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of paper panela 🥔🍫 1 1/2 cucharadas de panela de papelón
  • 5 bananas 🥔🍫 5 cambures (bananas)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (optional) 🥔🍫 1 cucharadita de vainilla (opcional)
  • 2-3 tablespoons of cocoa powder 🥔🍫 2-3 cucharadas de cacao en polvo

Preparation

Preparación

The first thing I did was peel the sweet potato. To do this, I used a vegetable peeler which made the job much easier. Then, I washed it well under the tap to remove any dirt residue. It is important to make sure the sweet potato is completely clean before proceeding. Using a large, sharp knife, I chopped the sweet potato into small pieces. This helps make cooking faster and more uniform. I tried to make the pieces a similar size so they all cook at the same time. I put the sweet potato pieces in a large pot and covered them with water. I took the pot to the stove and set it to boil over medium heat. It is important not to fill the pot too much to prevent water from spilling. I let the sweet potato boil for about 10 minutes. I knew it was ready when the little pieces became soft when pierced with a fork.

Lo primero que hice fue pelar la batata. Para ello, usé un pelador de vegetales que facilitó mucho el trabajo. Luego, la lavé bien bajo el grifo para eliminar cualquier residuo de tierra. Es importante asegurarse de que la batata esté completamente limpia antes de proceder. Con un cuchillo grande y bien afilado, piqué la batata en pedacitos pequeños. Esto ayuda a que la cocción sea más rápida y uniforme. Traté de hacer los pedazos de un tamaño similar para que todos se cocinen al mismo tiempo. Puse los pedacitos de batata en una olla grande y los cubrí con agua. Llevé la olla a la estufa y la puse a hervir a fuego medio. Es importante no llenar la olla demasiado para evitar que el agua se derrame. Dejé hervir la batata durante aproximadamente 10 minutos. Sabía que estaba lista cuando los pedacitos se volvieron suaves al pincharlos con un tenedor.

While the sweet potato was boiling, I dedicated myself to preparing the paper panela. This is a step that requires a little force. I used a large knife to chop the panela into small pieces. The amount I used was approximately 1 1/2 tablespoons, but you can adjust it to personal taste. The panela gives it a natural and deep sweetness that complements the other ingredients very well. I peeled the bananas one by one. Then, in a large container, I mashed them with a fork until I obtained a kind of puree. This step is quite simple and does not require much time. The bananas provide a natural sweetness and a creamy texture to the spread.

Mientras la batata hervía, me dediqué a preparar la panela de papelón. Este es un paso que requiere un poco de fuerza. Usé un cuchillo grande para picar la panela en pedacitos pequeños. La cantidad que utilicé fue aproximadamente 1 1/2 cucharadas, pero pueden ajustarlo al gusto personal. La panela le da un dulzor natural y profundo que complementa muy bien los demás ingredientes. Pelé los cambures uno por uno. Luego, en un envase grande, los aplasté con un tenedor hasta obtener una especie de puré. Este paso es bastante sencillo y no requiere mucho tiempo. Los cambures aportan un dulzor natural y una textura cremosa al untable.

Once the sweet potato was well boiled, I drained the water from the pot. It is important to make sure there is no water left in the pot to prevent the spread from becoming too runny. Then, I placed the crushed bananas in the same pot. I added the pieces of panela de papelón and the boiled sweet potato. I used a wooden spoon to mix all the ingredients well. In a separate container, I measured 2-3 tablespoons of cocoa powder. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. This combination gives the spread a very rich and deep chocolate flavor. I mixed these ingredients well in the container before adding them to the pot with the other ingredients. With all the ingredients already in the pot, I put it to cook over low heat. It is crucial to cook over low heat so that the flavors integrate well and to prevent the spread from burning. Every 5 minutes, I uncovered the pot and mixed the ingredients well. Cover again and let cook for another 5 minutes. This process took approximately 30 minutes in total. During cooking, the mixture began to thicken and take on a creamy, uniform consistency.

Una vez que la batata estuvo bien hervida, escurrí el agua de la olla. Es importante asegurarse de que no quede agua en la olla para evitar que el untable quede demasiado líquido. Luego, coloqué los cambures aplastados en la misma olla. Agregué los pedacitos de panela de papelón y la batata hervida. Usé una cuchara de madera para mezclar bien todos los ingredientes. En un envase aparte, medí 2-3 cucharadas de cacao en polvo. También agregué una cucharadita de vainilla. Esta combinación le da al untable un sabor a chocolate muy rico y profundo. Mezclé bien estos ingredientes en el envase antes de añadirlos a la olla con los demás ingredientes. Con todos los ingredientes ya en la olla, la puse a cocinar a fuego bajo. Es crucial cocinar a fuego bajo para que los sabores se integren bien y para evitar que el untable se queme. Cada 5 minutos, destapaba la olla y mezclaba bien los ingredientes. Tapaba de nuevo y dejaba cocinar otros 5 minutos. Este proceso duró aproximadamente 30 minutos en total. Durante la cocción, la mezcla comenzó a espesar y a tomar una consistencia cremosa y uniforme.

Creamy healthy spread

Cremoso untable saludable

Once the mixture reached the desired consistency, I removed it from the heat. I let it cool a little before packaging it. I used a glass jar with an airtight lid to store the spread. This spread is perfect to accompany with cookies, bread or even eat alone. The flavor is spectacular, a very beautiful and delicious sweetness. The flavor of sweet potatoes is unique, especially when very sweet.

Una vez que la mezcla alcanzó la consistencia deseada, la retiré del fuego. La dejé enfriar un poco antes de envasarla. Utilicé un frasco de vidrio con tapa hermética para almacenar el untable. Este untable es perfecto para acompañar con galletas, pan o incluso comer solo. El sabor es espectacular, un dulzor muy bonito y delicioso. El sabor de la batata es único, especialmente cuando está muy dulce.

Best of all, this recipe is completely vegan, without any animal products. Everything is of plant origin: vegetables and fruits.

Lo mejor de todo es que esta receta es completamente vegana, sin ningún producto de origen animal. Todo es de origen vegetal: verduras y frutas.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do. It is very special and I am sure that many of you will enjoy making it in your homes. Enjoy!

Espero que disfruten esta receta tanto como yo. Es muy especial y estoy segura de que muchos de ustedes disfrutarán haciéndola en sus hogares. ¡Buen provecho!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now