Lion's mane mushroom shnitzel-German inspired

DSC_1011.jpg

Hello friends. I have been tired lately and have not been too active here. There have been many sleep disturbances due to various things like construction. We have been sleep deprived but this morning it was quiet. The weather is cooler so I have the windows closed.

Last week the mushroom vendor at the local park market announced that it would soon be over for the winter. I was quite sad but at least she had some Lion's mane which is one of my favourites. I stalked up on exotic mushrooms. Lion's mane is a new discovery for me since last year. I am intrigued with it's look and it's meaty texture. It also absorbs flavour very well.

DSC_0736.jpg

Every time I see it, I can't believe how amazing this fungus is. It looks like a furry lovable creature. Thank goodness it's not because I like to eat it.

DSC_0739.jpg

It was October, when German Octoberfest is celebrated, although over now it inspired me to make shnitzel. This is something eaten quite a bit by Germans. My partner's parents are German and they used to eat it all the time. It's not the most healthy thing to eat. They ate pork shnitzels and they were fried in very deep oil.

Even though I'll fry mine, I'm using less oil. This is for pure enjoyment only.

DSC_0752.jpg

In order to make it more meaty, it's sliced then I put it in the little electric grill and press until most of the moisture is out.

DSC_0767.jpg

After pressing it I lay it out to cool while I prepare the breading. I sprinkled a little salt and pepper on it while it finished cooking. This mushroom really absorbs flavor so you have to be careful not to over do it. You can finish seasoning when it's completely done.

DSC_0809.jpg

I made a slurry using flour, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, pepper, and dried parley. There was around 2 cups of flour and 1 teaspoon of each other item and salt to taste. I don't measure but it can be according to your taste and liking. You could use other spices as well. I was going for more of a German European thing.

DSC_0814.jpg

I poured cold water into the mix a little at a time until I got a thick but runny consistency that would stick to and coat the pieces of mushroom.

DSC_0824.jpg

After mixing the slurry I add the pieces and dip into bread crumbs.

DSC_0827.jpg

Normally regular bread crumbs are used but I had some panko so I blended the two together. I didn't have very much regular bread crumbs.

DSC_0828.jpg

When they are well coated they look like the real deal.

DSC_0832.jpg

I browned them in a pan with enough oil and then put them in the oven to keep warm while each one was cooking.

DSC_0845.jpg

Shnitzel is commonly served with lemon, although my German inlaws wouldn't ever do that.

DSC_1001.jpg

It wouldn't be complete without sauerkraut and potatoes.

DSC_1005.jpg

I used jarred sauerkraut which I cooked in an oiled pan with onions and black pepper. I did the same with the potatoes which were already boiled.

DSC_0987.jpg

I sealed the deal with a salad. These shnizel would have fooled my mother inlaw for at least a few bites. It resembled the texture of meat but slighty different. Most people who have never heard of or had lion's mane mushroom, would simply ask what kind of meat they were eating.

I don't often consume breaded fried things but I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed the whole feast.

This mushroom is not something that you can just buy around here. I was lucky to have a mushroom vendor come for the summer and fall to the outdoor market at the park. If I want to get more I'll have to order from them but I won't bother. They are not cheap. They have growing kits online as well but I won't bother with that either.

If you ever stumble upon some furry creatures in the woods, take a good look. They could be lion's mane!

DSC_0991.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center