Cassava Lemet, Wrapping With Banana Leaves



IMG_6487.JPG

It started with a video showing the two main characters in the Bridgerton Series enjoying Indonesian snacks, Colin and Benedict Bridgerton. The show was so exciting that I couldn't even focus on what they were saying. For the first time seeing British people trying traditional Indonesian cakes, which would be matched with delicious snacks for tea.

In the show, I was so funny when they tried 'lemper' a kind of traditional snack wrapped in banana leaves. They both bit the banana leaf, even though it was not the part that would be eaten, but the wrapper. It was so funny to see Benedict biting it.

Because of the show, I remembered that there are so many traditional cakes that are packed in banana leaves. Indeed, in reality banana leaves are not difficult to get. In fact, when I used to live in my grandfather's house, I had a banana tree in front of the house and took the leaves for some of the food that my mother would make. It seemed very difficult to make, but believe me, banana leaves make the food taste better. The aroma really suits the food.

After watching that, I really wanted to make food wrapped in banana leaves, of course, I got the banana leaves from buying them at the traditional market, not from my grandfather's house. The banana tree at my grandfather's house had been cut down and used as a house by my uncle. You know, the price of banana leaves is also very cheap, around 2000 rupiah or only 2 cents.

IMG_6493.JPG

At the traditional market I also got finely grated cassava. Indeed, the traditional market is full of food ingredients that are 100% Indonesian pride. Of course, it is adjusted to the habits of the people here. Usually, only a few people sell grated cassava like this, so, maybe I was lucky to get it because cassava is available because it is in season.

IMG_6359.JPG


Lemet Cassava Wrapping Banana Leaves
The Recipe


Make food with 3 ingredients, that's:

  • Grated cassava 500 gr
  • Grated coconut 200 gr
  • Palm sugar and white sugar 50 gr / each
  • Banana leaves for wrapping

The method is also simple. Of course it's very simple, but I guarantee it tastes really delicious!

Well, you must be very curious, why the traditional name of this cake looks 'strange'. Lemet which comes from a regional word that means, soft and wet. This food does have a slightly soft and wet texture, because it is steamed and the ingredients have a high water content.

IMG_6350.JPG

IMG_6351.JPG

IMG_6360.JPG

IMG_6352.JPG

IMG_6361.JPG

Grated cassava, the water content is not filtered, used as needed. Then grated coconut to bind the water so that it is not too wet and gets a distinctive taste from coconut fat. Coconut certainly has a high percentage of fat, that's what makes this food taste so delicious, sweet and soft.

IMG_6364.JPG

IMG_6367.JPG

IMG_6363.JPG

Making it is so simple, by mixing all the ingredients and wrapping them in banana leaves. Then steamed until cooked.

Everything is very easy, it only takes 3 ingredients. Of course, this snack is enough for our family, I will share it with my in-laws and neighbors. Are you curious about this recipe? if you have recooked it, comment below!

IMG_6480.JPG

IMG_6482.JPG


See you the next time hive friends!



Editing by Lightroom and VN iphone 11




About Author

Annyeong yorobun! Welcome to wita’s corner. Author is a full time housewife who loves to eat while writing. Enthusiasm to gardening and cooking. Like the exploration of new things and have many dream is unlimited. Always vote and give suggestions to advance this author.

If you like his content, don't forget to support me and leave a comment below. Make sure to keep read and watch my content. Thankyou so much :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center