Rise of the Phoenix and a Crepe-y Breakfast - Two more Lino illustrations for the second edition of my book

I am really starting to get the hang of lino carving and inking and am having a lot of fun with it.

I guess I have played with this technique for a dozen or so hours, this week alone, and it is starting to pay off.

So far, I have created 4 lino illustrations ( 17 to go ) of the 22 illustrations of my book. One story won't have an illustration, for a reason.

Two out of the 4 were carved, inked and printed yesterday and today, namely this hangry, golden dino, with an oatmeal pancake on top of his head

Golden dino lino - A Crepe-y Breakfast - kopie.png

and this orange, red, phoenix, illustrating a story titled 'Rise of the Phoenix':

Phoenix yellow and red - kopie.png


Although I really liked my golden dino lino, yesterday, I can't help but feel that this phoenix feels extremely powerful and not just because it's a phoenix, a mythical creature of energy, rebirth and so much more!


Both carvings were based on the following illustrations, that I included in the ( very imperfect ) 10 copy first print of my book.

Rise of the Phoenix.jpg


Crepy Breakfast.jpg


The main idea about starting with lino carving was to work more with my hands and spend more time offline - mission accomplished.

It's also pretty Zen, overall, and I can do it while video calling with friends and fellow creatives, during so called co-creation sessions - extra powerful.


I will probably select some ( process art ) scans of the above art pieces to NFT Showroom soonish for about a handful of HIVE each. The idea is that you can buy them and thereby support me in my lengthy creative process.

To give you an idea: I started on my Hypersensitivosaurus stories in October 2019 and the first print of the first book was finished in February 2022, two and a half years later.


If you missed it, you might also want to check out my previous lino art post here: My Dino Lino process art is now for sale on NFT Showroom - another update on my creative journey


Phoenix on Canvas - kopie.png


Last but not least I will share a scan of this particular colorful phoenix, that I printed on a mini canvas. Talking about print, I incuded my dirty finger print for traceability ( just kidding, it was a perfect little 'accident' ). I am having a bbq at my sister's place tonight and will bring this latest art piece along as a present. Who knows, they might want to hang it in their guest house ( where I will probably spend the night ).

I hope I managed to empower you a little bit with this post of mine.

Sending you a creative hug from Portugal!


Get your hands ( not your fingerprints ) on my Art, by buying it on NFT Showroom: https://nftshowroom.com/vincentnijman/gallery

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now