ADDING TO MY COLLECTION

National Teacher's Day Books Illustration Instagram Post.png

hive divider.png

I have joked with my friends multiple times about nothing getting a TV set for myself. If I ever do get someone around, I will offer them books. One they won't be able to resist. Two of the laws of librarianship that I learned during my university years states; *Every reader its book, *Every book its reader. It means there is a book for every person out there, even if you don't read. It's one of the reasons why I have started building a collection of all genres. I intend to have the finest of fiction stories, the best of self-help, and everything in between. I have a place of my own now and the books are stacked. I have just over a dozen books of my own already. I want to be a reader, likewise a collector.

image.png

Been stuck in a remote village for almost a year had its good sides, but one of the cons was that I could not get new books for myself, but you could argue that since I work in a library, I should have access to all materials I need and more, but they aren't mine are they? Immediately I got back to the city, I started hunting for vendors. Most of the time, I stumbled upon them, or like the one I got recently, he walked up to me.

IMG_20220505_125649_540.jpg

hive divider.png

I was in a bus heading home when this fella came to me, asking if I would want to get one. Of course I said. I wanted to get the loner as it was the only piece I haven't seen in his collection but the I opted for Ben Carson's Think Big.

IMG_20220505_130638_835.jpg

hive divider.png

This is one of those books that shaped my life. Reading his childhood story and how his parents brought him up really taught me a lot. The best part was when he talked about books. I couldn't stop reading that chapter. He made books seem like a treasure in my eyes. I remember one of the quotes in the book;

The greatest treasure of a nation is in its library.

I gave the book to my sister as a gift. At first she was unintrested, but she has been thanking me all week, haha.

IMG_20220504_135909_579.jpg

hive divider.png

This is a book every human should at least have. Everyone should read this. Its a very practical book. I do still have a bias for everything and anything recommended by Mark Manson, haha, but I have read part of it and it trains to send a message of how little consistent habits amountbinto bigger permanent routine. Great read I reckon.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now