The Power of Reputaion

"A brand for a company is like a reputation for a person. You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well." - Jeff Bezos


In the past 10 years or so I've built a reputation for delivering on what I promised, and keeping my word.

I am either the first person someone looks for when in need, or the last, when all available options have failed...

That is why in my "small" group of friends, family, and acquaintances, I am called upon every now and then, sometimes as a last resort. People come to me for solutions, and I try my best to share my views and experiences. I can't speak for someone else and their experience. So, all I have is myself, my knowledge, my struggles, and my circumstances, these are the sources of my advice to others.

They learn from my advice, just as I've learned from my mistakes...

And sometimes, from my point of view, I try to come up with a solution, as I try to help.

I've chased different experiences all my life, and have taken on many different endeavors and challenges, just to learn and grow. Alas, even though there wasn't much advancement when climbing the ladder of life, or getting ahead in the rat race, I did, however, learn quite a lot.

As I slowly became the jack of all trades, master of few...


PXL_20231017_144332745.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉˢ ᵃⁿᵈ ᵒᵛᵉʳᵃˡˡ ᶜᵒⁿᵗᵉⁿᵗ ᵃʳᵉ ᵐʸ ᵒʷⁿ ᵘⁿˡᵉˢˢ ᶦᵗ'ˢ ᵐᵉⁿᵗᶦᵒⁿᵉᵈ


I'm currently reading The 48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene.

After reading the 5th law, I realized how fragile most of our reputations actually are; filled with weak spots. And how there are countless psychotic rogues in the world, who are out to get you and your reputation; their main motive being, simply to ruin the reputation that you've built.

And as we all know...

"Reputation, you know – a lifetime to build, seconds to destroy." - Robert De Niro

I always knew about the importance and power of a good reputation, but I never realized the wicked aspect of it. How someone can simply assign you to a task that is quite deliberately designed to fail; thus, crippling your reputation, and putting a black mark on your unblemished record.

Now, many people argue that your reputation is what other people think of you, and "what other people think shouldn't matter". That is true, as long as you're honest and hard-working, other people's opinions shouldn't matter. No doubt there, but you can't deny that a good reputation in a well-respected and honest network leads to some amazing opportunities and experiences. I've seen and experienced it first-hand.

I don't plan on being a rogue, there's no intention of hurting someone else's reputation, but I would like to maintain my clean sheet.

That is why I maintain distance from certain individuals and groups, nor do I accept every task and offer that comes my way; no matter how much they're willing to pay. I've seen too many loved ones lose everything they have, simply because they entrusted their reputation to other people's hands.

I am quite content with what I currently have, especially after having lost "everything" during COVID. To grow, and safeguard my track record, is all I want from here on.

And as the 5th law suggests, I'll definitely guard both my reputation and ethos with my life...

One law a day, that's my approach for this book, and as I make progress I'll keep you folks updated.



1.png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center