Love Life.

The books I read: “Love Life” by Matthew Hussey.

“Instead of putting my in-the-moment feelings in charge, I always ask myself this question: Is this a thing, that once it’s over, makes me say, “I’am glad I did that”?” p.109

Why this one?

Under one of my recent post I got an especially inspiring reply, containing a quote from a Podcast. My curiosity made me check out the Podcast, I listened to it while cycling through one part of Switzerland. As I got struck by many concepts and ideas they had suggested, I eventually decided to get the book one of the two, Matthew Hussey, had written: “Love Life”.

On a very turbulent day, somewhere between excitement, changing plans and me being literally all over the place, I make my way through a very busy main station on a Sunday evening. Everyone is buying food, me too, and all the masses of humans everywhere get me claustrophobic. I already want to give up food and everything else too; “Just get me out of here!” When I take a deep breath, enter the shop and manage to leave with some pasta and tomato sauce. “Now that I survived that part, might grant some affection to my mind as well…”
They have the book, I am looking for. I leave the crowded human mess behind, extremely hungry and overly excited to start reading that book.

What was it all about?

At it’s core I would say, this book is a source of inspiration on how to establish, strengthen or find love for your own life. How to get better at choosing the things that will add value to your life and saying “no” to the ones that don’t. Questioning your own feelings and wether they come from a place of abundance, fear, scarcity or love and compassion. It is about building confidence in and around yourself. Encouraging to understand and accept where you are at and to do the best you can from there on.

“You can only rely on your own progress, even if messy and hard.”

“The pain we choose benefits us. The pain we stay a victim of hurts us.”

“Everything changes and you have no idea what the future will hold for you, better or worst, everything is possible.”

“Move love from the world of feeling into the territory of doing.”

“Their lack of integrity is not a reflection of my worth. It’s a reflection of their standards.” p.185

“It has to be this hard. If it wasn’t, there would be nothing heroic about getting through it. You have to go through this or you won’t be able to show other people how to get back on their feet later on when they need it. People are going to need the version of you who gets through this. Keep going, kid, we got fucking work to do.” p.184

“Change doesn’t happen to us, it has to come from us.”

Will you read it?

There is one relationship we all have to deal with, for the entire time of our live; the one to ourselves. It doesn’t matter wether you are in a relationship, if you are looking for one or not, which concepts you believe in or reject. We all have to arrange how we get through our lives. And on the way there we do hurt others and we do get hurt.

Why wouldn’t everyone want to learn more about relationships? The ones to others and the one to yourself!

In that matter I feel safe to say, that this world would be a kinder place if everyone read that book. If everyone could learn what I just learned from it. Or if everyone would consider, to dig deeper into the subject of “relationships” as this book inspired me to do.

It encouraged me to hold on to the things, that make my life better every day. Opened up new ways of thinking about myself and others. Inspired me to stay curious, keep learning and exploring. This book reassured me about my determination to choose the path of growth over distraction and avoidance. Reading these lines made me remember the confidence that comes from dealing with any pain and the incredible rewards I get from doing the hard work, every, single, time.

Do you enjoy the relationship to yourself?

Thank you for passing by, for all the support and the replies I truly enjoy all of them. Have a lovely week!

And especially many thanks to you @honeydue for initiating the chain of events leading me to read this book, by suggesting that Podcast!!

All photos and words are owned by ©kesityu taken and written by myself, except the quotes that are from the book “Love Life” by Matthew Hussey.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments