[ENG-ESP] Hive Book Club Contest #10: My favorite fictional character✨ Let's talk about Will Herondale💜


What would you do if you met your favorite fictional character?✨
¿Qué harías si conocieras a tu personaje de ficción favorito?✨


As Khloe Rose said in her song Fictional: "I fall in love with boys in books who are as perfect as they can be", so when thanks to @erigm (I appreciate it so much) I found out about this #HiveBookClub community contest I knew I had to participate, especially because when I thought of my favorite fictional character a specific name came to my mind. And, the truth is that I have a long list of favorite characters —really very long— but he has been the character that marked me the most since the first paragraph he made his appearance; he is my biggest literary crush, because of him my expectations are high, and I can't settle for less🥺 And if he existed in this sad, minimalist and monotonous real world, there are many things I would like to do with the honor of his company, so —please— let me tell you about William Herondale from The Infernal Devices💖

Como dijo Khloe Rose en su canción Fictional: "Me enamoro de los chicos de los libros que son tan perfectos como pueden ser", por eso cuando, gracias a @erigm (te lo agradezco tanto), me enteré de este concurso de la comunidad #HiveBookClub supe que tenía que participar, especialmente porque al pensar en mi personaje de ficción favorito vino a mi mente un nombre en específico.

Y, la verdad, es que tengo una larga lista de personajes favoritos —realmente muy larga— pero él ha sido el personaje que más me marcó desde el primer párrafo en que hizo su aparición; es mi mayor crush literario, debido a él mis expectativas son altas y no puedo conformarme con menos🥺 Y si él existiera en este triste, minimalista y monótono mundo real, hay muchas cosas que me gustaría hacer con el honor de su compañía, así que —por favor— permíteme hablarte sobre William Herondale de Cazadores de Sombras: Los Orígenes💖

Impromptu stress-relieving outing_20230807_173922_0000.png


✨William Herondale✨

This character is the main character of the The Infernal Devices trilogy, the prequel to the famous and extensive main saga called The Mortal Instruments (And you can find my review of the first book here). Honestly, I'm more in love with the story of the prequel😬 These books are narrated in the time of XIX century in London, where Will is a Shadowhunter, a species that has the power of an angel to fight the demons that torment our reality.

His father was a shadowhunter, but he fell in love with a mundane (a normal woman), so he left that world behind to form a family; Will had two sisters, one older than him and the other younger, and they were a happy family💖 Until one day, due to his childish curiosity, Will opened a box containing a demon, letting it escape, and it caused the death of his father and older sister. Furthermore, it tricked little Will into believing that it had cursed him, and that anyone who loved him would die. So he abandoned his family and joined the Shadowhunters, to find a way to break his "curse", and to defend humanity from the demons.

Este personaje es el protagonista de la trilogía Cazadores de Sombras: Los Orígenes, la precuela de la famosa y extensa saga principal llamada Cazadores de Sombras: Los Instrumentos Mortales (Y puedes encontrar mi reseña del primer libro aquí). Sinceramente, estoy más enamorada de la historia de la precuela😬 Estos libros están narrados en la época del siglo XIX en Londres, donde Will es un cazador de sombras, una especie que tiene el poder de un ángel para combatir los demonios que atormentan nuestra realidad.

Su padre era un cazador de sombras, pero se enamoró de una mundana (una mujer normal), así que dejó atrás ese mundo para formar una familia; Will tenía dos hermanas, una mayor que él y la otra menor, y eran una familia feliz💖 Hasta que un día, debido a su curiosidad infantil, Will abrió una caja que contenía a un demonio, dejando escapar al mismo, y este causó la muerte de su padre y hermana mayor. Además, engañó al pequeño Will haciéndole creer que lo había maldecido, y que cualquier persona que lo amara iba a morir. Así que abandonó a su familia y se unió a los Cazadores de Sombras, para encontrar cómo romper su “maldición”, y para defender la humanidad de los demonios.

Picsart_23-08-07_16-51-52-478.jpg


It's mentioned that Will is physically beautiful, but it's obvious that in books we don't fall in love with characters because of their looks, we fall in love with their souls, with every detail that makes them the way they are. And for me, Will Herondale, is wonderful💗 He passionately loves literature, his room is full of books, and the main character, Tessa, shares that same interest, so when they both debated about their favorite books, I sighed in love. Will is an intellectual and thoughtful character, with a very sarcastic humor (similar to mine), so one of the main things I would do if I met him would be to go to a bookstore and spend hours talking about books. Since he is from an older era, I would love him to talk to me about classic books, while I would share with him my opinion about current books, discussing all the changes that literature has had in the last centuries.

Also, Will loves letters. Those handwritten letters, where you expose your whole soul through words; it's probably because of the era the character is built in, but I love that he loves letters, he even fell in love with the main character before meeting her in person, just because he read her letters. So yes, I would have Will write me a letter😂 or at least teach me how to express myself like they did in those times. However, I know he would love technology, because he is a curious and progressive character, so I would accompany him to a tech expo, he would be thrilled.

Se menciona que Will es hermoso físicamente, pero es obvio que en los libros no nos enamoramos de los personajes por su apariencia, nos enamoramos de sus almas, de cada detalle que los hace ser como son. Y para mí, Will Herondale, es maravilloso💗 Él ama apasionadamente la literatura, su habitación está llena de libros, y la protagonista, Tessa, comparte ese mismo interés, así que cuando ambos debatían acerca de sus libros favoritos, yo suspiraba enamorada. Will es un personaje intelectual y reflexivo, con un humor muy sarcástico (parecido al mío), por lo cual, una de las principales cosas que haría si lo conociera sería ir a una librería y pasar horas hablando de libros. Como él es de una época antigua, amaría que me hablara de libros clásicos, mientras que yo le compartiría mi opinión sobre los libros actuales, debatiendo todos los cambios que ha tenido la literatura en los últimos siglos.

Además, Will ama las cartas. Esas cartas escritas a mano, donde expones toda tu alma a través de las palabras; probablemente sea por la época en que está construido el personaje, pero yo amo que él ame las cartas, incluso se enamoró de la protagonista antes de conocerla en persona, solo porque leyó sus cartas. Así que sí, haría que Will me escribiera una carta😂 o al menos que me enseñe a expresarme como lo hacían en aquellos tiempos. Sin embargo, sé que él también amaría la tecnología, porque es un personaje curioso y progresista, por lo tanto, lo acompañaría a una exposición tecnológica, estaría encantado.


Lumii_20230719_164037107.png

"Life is a book, and there are thousands of pages we haven't read yet. I'd like us to read them together, as many as I can, before I die" - Will to Tessa.

"La vida es un libro, y hay miles de páginas que no hemos leído todavía. Me gustaría que las leamos juntos, tantas como pueda, antes de que me muera" - Will a Tessa.

Lumii_20230719_163856741.png


Since the character is not from this century, I can imagine dozens of wonderful scenarios in which I can meet him. He might be in my time, or, even more fun, I might be in his. If the latter were the case, I would love to go to a ball✨ Go to one of those extravagant parties of those times, wear a long and elegant dress, and have Will be my date. I think I've imagined that scenario once in my life😂 However, in the current era, I'd love to talk to Will about music. Like me, he is a sensitive and romantic character, and pays attention to the little details, so listening to music with him should be very interesting. I love to analyze the lyrics of songs, reflect on their message and the feeling they give me, and I think Will would appreciate those details as well.

Como el personaje no es de este siglo, puedo imaginarme decenas de escenarios maravillosos en qué puedo conocerlo. Puede ser que él esté en mi época, o, más divertido aún, que yo esté en la suya. Si esto último fuera el caso, amaría ir a un baile✨ Ir a una de esas fiestas extravagantes de esos tiempos, usar un vestido largo y elegante, y que Will sea mi acompañante. Creo que ese escenario lo he imaginado alguna vez en la vida😂 No obstante, en la época actual, me enantaría hablar con Will sobre la música. Al igual que yo, él es un personaje sensible y romántico, y presta atención a los pequeños detalles, por lo cual, escuchar música con él debe ser muy interesante. Yo amo analizar las letras de las canciones, reflexionar sobre su mensaje y la sensación que me dan, considero que Will también apreciaría esos detalles.

image.png
source


I could very easily expand, but I will summarize what other things I would do if I met William Herondale. I would invite him to go to the movies, because I'm pretty sure he would love movies. Likewise, I would take him to an amusement park, or any place with extreme rides, because he's a shadowhunter, and therefore, he's familiar with adrenaline, he's going to need that touch of excitement and danger. And, as he is a romantic man, a picnic in a park should be wonderful, with plenty of delicious food and in contact with nature.

And I'm sure you'll think: "you're mentioning a lot of romantic dates, girl"😂 Probably yes, but as I said at the beginning, this character is my biggest literary crush, he's even more than that, I admire the person he is. He's brave, concerned about his loved ones, he would happily sacrifice his life if with that he save them; he's sensitive, he can get to doubt himself, but he will never give up. He is stubborn, and loves to have things his own way. He is romantic, he shows that he is not afraid to express his feelings, and that if we love it must be with all the strength we have, nothing half-heartedly. Of course he's not perfect, and there are many aspects he needs to improve about himself, but another thing I admire about him is that he accepts his mistakes, and already in the last book you sense that, it's him trying to be the best version of himself✨

Podría extenderme muy fácilmente, pero voy a resumir qué otras cosas haría si conociera a William Herondale. Lo invitaría a ir al cine, porque estoy muy segura que amaría las películas. Lo llevaría a un parque de diversiones, o cualquier lugar con atracciones extremas, debido a que es un cazador de sombras, y por ende, está familiarizado con la adrenalina, va a necesitar ese toque de emoción y peligro. Y, como es un hombre romántico, un pícnic en un parque debe ser maravilloso, con bastante comida deliciosa y en contacto con la naturaleza.

Y seguro pensarán: "estás mencionando un montón de citas románticas, chica"😂 Probablemente sí, pero como dije al principio, este personaje es mi mayor crush literario, incluso es más que eso, admiro la persona qué es. Es valiente, preocupado por sus seres queridos, sacrificaría feliz su vida si con eso los salva; es sensible, puede llegar a dudar de sí mismo, pero jamás se dará por vencido. Es terco, y le encanta que las cosas sean a su manera. Es romántico, demuestra que no teme expresar sus sentimientos, y que si amamos debe ser con toda la fuerza que tengamos, nada a medias. Por supuesto que no es perfecto, y hay muchos aspectos que debe mejorar de sí mismo, pero otra cosa que admiro de él es que acepta sus errores, y ya en el último libro se percibe eso, es él intentando ser la mejor versión de sí mismo✨


Lumii_20230719_164037107.png

"It was the books that kept me from taking my life after I thought I could never love anyone, that no one could ever love me again." - Will Herondale.

"Fueron los libros los que me impidieron quitarme la vida después de que pensara que nunca podría amar a nadie, que nunca nadie me podría volver a amar" - Will Herondale.

Lumii_20230719_163856741.png


I have a long list of favorite characters, I would love to talk about them all, but then it would be an exaggeratedly long post, so this is enough✨ I am delighted with this contest, I often talk to myself about my favorite characters, so having the opportunity to share it with someone makes me immensely happy💜 For that reason, I have to invite @mandysmoon @omarqm and @kiutvariedades, because my best friends love to read, and they must participate.

This trilogy has wonderful characters, and the story is fantastic; the last book makes me cry like a baby no matter how many times I read it. They are my second favorite books (after the Harry Potter saga), they are my safe place, and if you haven't read it, then go do it, please🥰 William Herondale is an angel, I fell in love with him in my teens, and now in adulthood I still am; and, even if this person doesn't really exist, there must be someone who comes close to him, and someday I will find him. Every The Infernal Devices fan deserves their Will (or their Jem) ❤️

Thanks for reading, see you later💜

Tengo una larga lista de personajes favoritos, me encantaría hablar sobre todos, pero entonces sería una publicación exageradamente larga, por eso con esto es suficiente✨ Estoy encantada con este concurso, a menudo hablo conmigo misma acerca de mis personajes favoritos, así que tener la oportunidad de compartirlo con alguien me hace inmensamente feliz💜 Por esa razón, tengo que invitar a @mandysmoon @omarqm y @kiutvariedades, porque mis mejores amigos adoran leer, y deben participar.

Esta trilogía tiene personajes maravillosos, y la historia es fantástica; el último libro me hace llorar como una bebé sin importar cuántas veces lo lea. Son mis segundos libros favoritos (después de la saga de Harry Potter), son mi lugar seguro, y si no lo has leído, entonces ve a hacerlo, por favor🥰 William Herondale es un ángel, me enamoré de él en mi adolescencia, y ahora en la adultez lo sigo estando; y, aunque realmente esta persona no exista, debe haber alguien que se le acerque, y algún día lo encontraré. Cada fan de Los Orígenes merece a su Will (o su Jem) ❤️

Gracias por leer, hasta luego💜


Lumii_20230719_164037107.png

"Reading your words, what you wrote, how sometimes you felt alone and scared, but you were always brave (...) I dreamed what you dreamed, I wanted what you wanted, and then I realized that what I really wanted was you." - Will Herondale.

"Leer tus palabras, lo que escribiste, cómo a veces te sentías sola y asustada, pero siempre eras valiente (...) Soñé lo que tú soñabas, quise lo que tú querías, y luego me di cuenta de que lo que realmente quería era a ti." - Will Herondale.

Lumii_20230719_163856741.png


Picsart_23-08-07_16-51-09-860.jpg

Credits to Raven, my friend's cat, who posed for the photo💖 || Créditos a Raven, la gata de mi amiga, que posó para la foto💖

61a59a12-0d3b-4c81-9c5a-da9956d99ed2.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now