Stronger [ENG - ESP]

IMG_20211104_183943.jpg

NEUTR3.png

ENGLISH.png

The Arab community was one of the most united among foreigners in the country, it was almost a brotherhood where certain traditions had to be followed. Even today there is still a lot of pressure about the private life of the members, things like you have to marry another woman of Arabian descent and follow the protocol of our culture are imposed traditions and quite archaic in my opinion.

But since the death of my mother 5 years ago, I decided that I was not going to live a life in which I would feel unhappy or trapped, that is why when love knocked on my door I did not look at her ID or family tree, I simply wanted to live the experience without giving much importance to my culture and its traditions.

At first no one cared too much because no one thought that the relationship would transcend enough to reach the altar, but that's exactly what happened. Time ended up uniting me more and more with that beautiful Venezuelan and I, who had always been a rebel without a cause, let myself be carried away by love.

ESPAÑOL.png

La comunidad árabe era una de las más unidas entre los extranjeros del país, era casi una hermandad en donde se tenían que cumplir ciertas tradiciones. Incluso hoy en día sigue existiendo mucha presión acerca de la vida privada de los miembro, cosas como que debes casarte con otra mujer de ascendencia arábica y seguir el protocolo de nuestra cultura son tradiciones impuestas y bastante arcaicas a mi parecer.

Pero desde la muerte de mi madre hace 5 años, decidí que no iba a vivir una vida en la cual me sintiera infeliz o atrapado es por eso que cuando el amor tocó a mi puerta no mire sus DNI o su árbol genealógico simplemente quise vivir la experiencia sin darle mucha importancia a mi cultura y a sus tradiciones.

Al principio nadie se preocupó demasiado pues ninguno pensó en que la relación trascendiera lo suficiente como para llegar al altar, pero eso fue exactamente lo que pasó. El tiempo me terminó uniendo cada vez más con aquella hermosa venezolana y yo que siempre había sido un rebelde sin causa me deje llevar por el amor.

NEUTR3.png

The announcement of our wedding aroused the general rejection of all the Arabs in my circle, even those I didn't even know existed. If I did not follow the rules of the community then they were not going to support me in any possible way, I was practically suffering a banishment by the banished.

I remember once talking to my father in an uncomfortable evening while we were having a coffee, my dad was furious for no reason but nothing and no one was going to make him change his mind, it was my life and I did not care if I had to become an outcast to achieve happiness, even my brothers stopped talking to me and hated me for the simple fact of loving a person alien to our roots.

With much sacrifice I managed to marry Cristal, we did not even have a house of our own at the beginning but we both loved each other and that mattered more than indulging other people's whims. We started a venture with a fast food restaurant in vintage style, we quickly grew and became a reference in the area.

El anuncio de nuestra boda despertó el rechazo generalizado de todos los árabes de mi círculo incluso de aquellos los cuales no sabía que existían. Sino seguía las reglas de la comunidad entonces tampoco ellos iban a apoyarme de ninguna manera posible, prácticamente estaba sufriendo un destierro por parte de los desterrados.

Recuerdo una vez hablar con mi padre en una velada incómoda mientras nos tomábamos un café, mi papá estaba furioso sin razón alguna pero nada ni nadie iba a hacer que cambiará de opinión era mi vida y no me importaba si tenía que convertirme en un paria para conseguir la felicidad, hasta mis hermanos me dejaron de hablar y me odiaron por el simple hecho de querer a una persona ajena a nuestras raices.

Con mucho sacrificio logré casarme con Cristal, ni siquiera teníamos una casa propia al principio pero ambos nos amábamos y eso importaba más que complacer caprichos ajenos. Comenzamos un emprendimiento con un restaurant de comida rápida al estilo vintage, rápidamente crecimos y nos convertimos en referencia en la zona.

NEUTR3.png

We bought a house and managed to overcome adversity even though my whole family turned their backs on me in the most difficult moments, I realized that I didn't need them at all. If the home where you are born does not allow you to be happy, then get out of there and build a life your way but don't let traditions of men take away your right to decide.

I did it and although I am proud of my roots I also feel that sometimes beliefs can be a limiting factor for your personal development, always choose your well being, the rest is a gift.

Compramos una casa y logramos vencer las adversidades a pesar de que toda mi familia me dio la espalda en los momentos más difíciles, me di cuenta de que no los necesitaba para nada. Si el hogar en donde naces no te permite ser feliz, entonces sal de ahí y construye una vida a tu manera pero no permitas que tradiciones de hombres te arrebaten el derecho a decidir.

Yo lo hice y aunque estoy orgulloso de mis raíces también siento que a veces las creencias pueden ser una limitante para tu desarrollo personal, elige siempre tu bienestar lo demás es un regalo.

NEUTR3.png


𝐀𝐧𝐨𝐭𝐡𝐞𝐫 𝐩𝐨𝐬𝐭𝐬 𝐨𝐟 𝐦𝐲 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐡𝐨𝐫𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩 | 𝐎𝐭𝐫𝐚𝐬 𝐩𝐮𝐛𝐥𝐢𝐜𝐚𝐜𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐞𝐬 𝐝𝐞 𝐦𝐢 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐨𝐫í𝐚:


Accepting Changes
Anointed
Empathy

Translated by me & also using Deepl

Source of image in mine - La Imagen en la portada es mía

GIF elaborated by @equipodelta

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center