Your Ancestors - Shadow Hunters Contest/SMASh - Round 209

This is my entry to Shadow Hunters Contest/SMASh - Round 209.

img_2930_2_copy.jpg

This is a statue of rice farmers in the center of my small town. I look at it often and think about the people who worked their lives short not only to survive, but to provide the next generation. Something too many of us have forgotten how to do. You can tell one of the farmers is looking towards the future, forward. It's a great statue.

img_2931_copy.jpg

The man looking into the distance looks a lot like my landlord, who is also mayor. His family has been here for a long time so i thinks it's possible the statue was modeled after him. I'll have to ask him about it.

There are still lots of small farms in my area. You will have a small housing tract with a farm right in the middle. It's very interesting to see, but one by one they are beginning to disappear as the older generation dies off and the land is sold to developers. It's nice there is a monument of the people who came before so as their efforts are not forgotten by the new digital class.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center