Shadow de Chenonceau

I'm going to be quite honest here and tell you that I love my title! It's such an excellent play on words and I'm marvelling at my own brilliance in its creation.

Shadow de Chenonceau. Do you get it? It's cool because the actual place this photo was taken was Château de Chenonceau.

Shadow. Château. Brilliant right?


Château de Chenonceau spans the River Cher in the Loire Valley, France. It's a short walk from the tiny village of Chenonceaux and the architecture and grounds are beautiful.

The château was completed around 1522 with the bridge that spans the river completed around 1559. Built in a combination of late Gothic and early Renaissance style it is now open to explore inside and in the gardens and grounds surrounding the château.

Chenonceau has a rich history and there has been no shortage of French nobility in residence.

King Henry II gifted it in 1547 to Diane de Poitiers, his mistress, who improved the grounds greatly. But where there's nobles and royalty there's drama and by 1559, at King Henry II's death, his widow, Queen Catherine de' Medici, made Diane swap ownership of it for Château Chaumont and Chenonceau became Catherine 's most favoured residence.

Of course, it's had a long history and many others called it home, even the Nazi's in World War Two...They bombed it also, but fortunately it's here for us today to explore and enjoy.

If you're keen you can see a photo of the château from the outside here on pixabay. I didn't get a good enough one of my own to use in this post I'm afraid.


In this image you see Faith looking out of one of the many windows of Château de Chenonceau's. You can see the wooden shutter opened up and showing some nice woodgrain texture and, of course, the sunshine streaming in through the window has provided some shadows.

I'm certainly no photographer and there's probably plenty wrong with this photo but what you see is what came out of the camera and it reminds me of a really cool day spent exploring the Château, gardens and the small village of Chenonceaux.


If y'all have any shadow photographs to share you should check out the Shadow Hunters community. There's a weekly contest to get involved with and the folks there are really friendly. Thanks @melinda010100 for putting together a cool community.

Thanks for taking a look at my photo...I've tried to give it some interest by way of a little history about the location in which it was shot and I hope you liked it. Thank also for loving my clever title...I know you did, don't deny it! 😃

Hopefully I'll see you around the Shadow Hunters community soon.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

This is not an entry for the shadow hunters weekly contest, just a shadow photo I wanted to share.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center