Shadows in a beautiful setting (Monforte de Lemos). Entry for the SMASh Contest-Round 239

Hi Hivers friends, one more day I'm in front of the computer writing my weekly post for the participation in the photo contest organized by @melinda010100 from the wonderful #shadowhunters community.

Last week I spent 3 days in a small town in Galicia called Monforte de Lemos. It is a town of one, 15000 habitants located in the province of Galicia, in the northwest of Spain. It is a very nice town where a medieval tower can be seen in the distance of the town as it is situated on a small hill in the center of the town.

Last Monday, after leaving work, I decided to take a little walk around this city with the intention of getting some nice pictures to share in my blog. During my walk I came across graffiti and urban art murals for the #streetart community, I also found a multitude of ducks, ocas and geese in a small river that crosses the city that I could use for some post in #featheredfriends, and almost at the end of my walk I found a small pond where I could hunt several reflections that I will share in the next post of the #reflections contest organized by @olgavita within the #shadowhunters community.

My entry to CCC`s Street Art Contest

In short, this walk may provide me with a few posts for my contest entries and I hope to do a more extensive post talking not only about the city, but also about the whole region that surrounds it, where there are some canyons of the river sil, viewpoints of the canyons and also vineyards where the grapes are obtained for the production of wine with denomination of origin Ribera Sacra.

About 40 minutes walking through the city with the intention of taking some pictures of the mural presented in the CCC`s street art contest, I came across a large building called Colegio de Nuestra Señora de la Antigua, which is a large monastery, a school that incorporates in its central part a large church very similar to the Monastery of El Escorial in Madrid. In fact, consulting the tourism page of the city council of Monforte de Lemos, this school is called the Galician Escorial.

In front of this building there is a large square surrounded by very flowery gardens and some metal benches that are responsible for writing this post in this community.

After a few photos of the various gardens in front of this monastery, I was struck by the fabulous shadows cast by the metal benches. However, all the benches around me were occupied by different people and I found it uncomfortable to photograph the benches with them sitting there. So, after about 15 minutes of waiting, an elderly couple got up from their bench and I approached them to capture 3 different shots of the bench. Two of the shots as you will see I focus on the bench, its shadow and the flower garden next to it. The other photograph focuses on the bench, its shadow, the flower garden next to it and the capture in the photograph of the monastery.

As I think all three shadows are beautiful, I have been thinking about which one to choose during the writing of this post. Finally, as it is a contest of shadows, I have opted for the one with the best shadow projection and more details of the bench and the shadow itself.

Photography submited to SMASh Contest

After the walk, I went to the hotel comforted by all the photographic material obtained during this walk that I hope you like it.

Best regards friends.

Original photos taken with my iPhone SE.

Cover created with Canva (free version).

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center