Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach, Phuket, Thailand

img_0.05070681382592351.jpg

It's been just over 10 years since my partner and I stayed at the Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach, Phuket, Thailand. Out of all my holiday destinations this has been my favourite and most memorable holiday and stay in a Resort ever. The location, design and layout of the resort was absolutely divine. I still remember walking into the resort which had a really large foyer leading to the main lagoon pool surrounded by restaurants and bars. Smack bang in the middle was a swim up bar which would be where I ended up most days/nights.

It was also my partner and I first overseas trip together and we chose Thailand for its rich cultural heritage, land marks, beaches and entertainment. A popular tourist destination amongst Australians and not too long after the Tsunami devastated much of the coast we wanted to go spend our Australian dollars there to help the tourism industry.

img_0.6498004157207422.jpg

Set amongst 12 acres of pristine coastline the Merlin Resort had its own private beach accessible to resort guests with massage parlours and bars along the Bay. I remember going for a swim and a local handing me a banana to take into the water. It turns out tropical fish like tropical fruit and within moments I was surrounded by schools of rainbow fish eating the banana out of my hand. A once in a life time moment one that I was also worried that a shark would come along as the locals would often say I needed to keep my eyes open for them.

img_0.33029289777942505.jpg

The central lagoon pool aligned with the bay which was more of a small Cove and gave the impression of the ocean continued through to the resort and the resort rooms were nestled amongst palm trees as well as coconut trees. This also provided a risk to swimmers as we had been informed coconuts had fallen off the tree and injured swimmers in the past. Something I was mindful of the whole time we were there.

img_0.3351348956307296.jpg
Source

The rooms weren't overly complex or anything too special but they did the trick and this resort is probably not one in which you would be in your room very long other than to sleep and maybe order room service. I do recall our air conditioning kept breaking down and we were constantly having to call maintenance. Thailand is quite humid and hot so it was a little uncomfortable when it happened at night.

imag0285.jpg
Down stairs were a number of bars and restaurants throughout the venue at that stage many were being upgraded but we still had fun in the main bar and I think cocktails worked out to be something like $2 each.

There are also a number of restaurants varying from traditional Thai food to Italian, BBQ or grill as its called in other parts of the world and breakfast bar was awesome. I still remember waking up early each morning and eating breakfast amongst the main lagoon pool. There were billard tables, fitness centre, convince store as well as a bar to dance the night away. Day spas and a beauty salon. So plenty for your partner to go pamper herself while you relax in the swim up bar 🤣

For me, I don't think I have ever been to a more beautiful resort in my life and I've always wanted to go back. I remember wanting to go explore the palm tree forrest but was told not too as Thailand has a lot of wild tigers and elephants and that if I wasn't careful I'd be killed by them.

Thank you for the wonderful contest, has anyone else ever visited this beautiful location? You can find out more about it here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center